Rihla 18


Advertisement
North America
February 13th 2012
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Interview:

1. Name of Interviewee: Alma Arellano
2. Relationship to Interviewee: Mother
3. Decade of Choice: 90s - 2000s
4. Describe the environment in which you lived for that decade.
The enviorment in Mexico was slow and hardly any jobs so they decided to migrate to the United States.
5. What major activities did you participate in?
Go to parties , going to church
6. What were the major social issues of that decade?
Diffusion between rich and poor. The rich did not like associating with the poor.7. What was the biggest turning point for you during that decade? Why?
my biggest turning point has been the decade of 2000s-2010 because this is the time the 9/11 attacks happen and how the United States began being bias against Muslim people because some Muslims had hickjacked the airplanes. I feel what happen there has affected my life now especially at the airport.

1. In your own words, do you think that location has influenced this person’s actions?
I think the location has influenced my mother's decision because since she was in Mexico and knew there were bigger and better things in the United States. That lead them to decided to leave their friends and family behind to come in search of a new opportunity.
2. Do you think your location within the last decade of your life has influenced your actions? Explain.
I would agree that my location influenced me. Being from the united states gives me an oppurtunity to get an education. I also believe that being from a Mexican America culture it has given motivation to better myself.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb