Rihla #10


Advertisement
North America
November 21st 2011
Published: November 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Occupy Wall Street
What:
The Occupy Wall Street Protests are people of the 99%!w(MISSING)ho are protesting against economic unfairness.
Occupy Wall Street started in New York but has spread throughout the nation.

When:
On-going for 2 months

Where:
-originated in New York against Wall Street
-Chicago
-San Francisco

-Los Angeles

-St Louis
-Portland

-Denver


Some of the things I heard while on my protest through chicago:
"The banks go bailed out! We got sold out!"
"We. Are. The 99 Percent!"
"Show me what Democracy looks like, this is what Democracy looks like"

Who:



Why?!?!:
-unemployment rate
-income inequality
-high cost of education
-the banks got bailed out but no one else has gotten bailed out

I'm not sure how I feel about these protests. I agree that's its hard to live in this economy now, but I don't think the government can do anything it at this point. I think that everyone right now is just complaining. They voices have been heard, now what is their solution? I followed the protesters in Chicago to see what they were protesting about and at the time I didn't really agree with them. I didn't agree with them because I didn't hear any solution except for "tax the rich, feed the poor". They were suggesting to tax the rich more than what they are already being taxed and I don't think I know enough about the economy to know if that's the best solution.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb