RIHLA#6


Advertisement
North America
October 16th 2011
Published: October 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

1) Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn't arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I'm going to be happy in it. Groucho Marx
This quote is important to me because it explains the mindset one must have to begin the day so the day goes well, it applies to any situation and helps one know how to think of the day. This relates to world history because it represents all the events we have studied and shows that through the thoughts of people the generation was able to change, despite its past.
2) Hearts will never be made practical until they are made unbreakable. Tinman from the Wizard of Oz
The quote said by Tinman reflects on the idea of how one can be improved through helping himself before helping others. It is important because the heart is a confusing thing that several people listen to and respect, and for many it is a determinant of who they are. This quote relates to class because in class the Chinese wanted to achieve inner peace and the heart is one that they needed to control.
3) All lies and jest, still, a man hears what he wants to hear and disregards the rest. Simon and Garfunkel.
This quote means that humans only do what benefits each person. In history many great leaders suffered because they only do what benifited themselves. This quote is important because it uncovers the reality of the people.
4) You're dangerous cause your honest, you're dangerous cause you don't know what you want. U2, Who's gonna ride your wild horses.
This quote means that a person who is in control and knows what they want and is honest is the strongest. This is important because the people in history who have had both traits are remembered today and even have been the important changes in the human life.
5) There are places I remember all my life, though some have changed. Some forever, not for better, some have gone and some remain. The Beatles, In my life
This quote, personally, is my favorite. This quote shows the power of the memory, we lean through what we have seen. We have also collected these memories, it makes up the history of the earth.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb