Pre Departure


Advertisement
North America
June 11th 2011
Published: June 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Holy smokes!
I WILL BE ON A PLANE IN LIKE LESS THEN 2 DAYS FLYING TO THAILAND. HOLY SMOKES!!!!!!

5 months before...late january
The day i found out I was excepted into the project I hugged Mary ( the coordinator) and an old volunteer Skylar from a couple years ago.
I ran down the three flights of stairs, with a smile so large plastered on my face. I couldnt believe i was just excepted, I just could not process it. So i smiled skipped and jumped uncontrollably until i got home- 15 minute walk: 7 minute skip.
On the way home i passed a couple strangers who could obviously tell i was excited about something- they too started jumping in excitement and threw their hands into the air- this is why i love the Bishop's community.
I picked up my phone and phoned like 12 people but no one answered: it was 11 o clock friday morning.
So when i got home, my lovely room mate Jarad was the first to celebrate with me.
I will never forget how amazing this feeling was: it was like winning 10 million dollars; hitting that last minute three pointer to win a game ( i always missed though, so thats just my imagination..until i got accepted)
It felt like there was nothing in the world that could knock me down. it was incredible..

until now...
5 months of ESL and cultural training you'd think I feel ready but I am FREAKING OUT!!!

I am super DUPER nervous, suffering from acute anxiety, stressed to the MAX with last minute travel things to arrange because I am unorganized ( thanks mom) and am a severe procrastinator.
I have stayed up late, and woken up early everyday the past week to compensate for these procrastination problems and am therefore exhausted.
Shooot- Glozell

the excitement is definitely there but the whole situation just seems so surreal. Above all of this last minute pressure and ramble of emotions, I feel very thankful and blessed to have been given this opportunity.

Yesterday night and tonight we have a fundraiser that the volunteers are all helping out with. If youre at BU check out the Choromondo concert. I will be there. This is the last thing we do as a group/ commitee before taking off on monday.

tomorrow my mom and hopefully two sisters are taking me to a hotel right by the airport.
Crap I still need to pack.

On a side note it has also been incredibly hard to keep saying good byes to people. Good byes have never been my strong point and they havent been getting easier.

Those people I love with all my heart- you are already missed, i cry sporadically thinking that I won't see some of you for six months.. some of you it will be longer by the time I get back.

But I will try to be safe, and come back home alive.

WOO- lez get it poppin'

Kathy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb