"Way Down Yonder in New Orleans, In the Land of Dreamy Scenes"


Advertisement
North America
March 6th 2010
Published: October 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

"Way Down Yonder in New Orleans, In the Land of Dreamy Scenes, There's a Garden of Eden, You know what I mean" ~ Louis Armstrong



Blake Robert Dose - born 2/15/2010, to amazing parents Michelle and Jeremy 😊
I haven't seen Michelle and Jeremy in a couple of years, so when Carol suggested flying in for a visit to see the happy new family, I was super excited. Carol and Michelle are friends from high school, and I first met Michelle at NIU, and then we both transferred down to SIU, where we were roommates for a year, and where Michelle met Jeremy. They've been traveling a lot in their marriage, living in Ohio for a while, and north central Illinois, and now for the past year or so, New Orleans.

We planned our visit as soon as we could, for the beginning of March. Carol flew into Colorado and stayed with Beth and me for a couple of days, and then we both flew to New Orleans together. I've been to Louisiana once before, but it was for a work camp trip back when I was in high school, and we were helping in Tangipahoa Parish, which is an hour and half northwest of New Orleans. We did go into the city for a day, but that's it, so I was excited to see what it looked like.

We went walking around the French Quarter. Michelle made sure we stopped at Cafe du Monde for some delicious beignets. We also tried some daiquiris at the Outside Market. We went to a sculpture garden at the New Orleans Museum of Art. There were a ton of interesting and cool sculptures. The French Quarter is pretty, but true to my weird self, it's the cemeteries I love the most. We went on a hunt for a specific statue and weren't able to find it, but we did see some other cool statues and graves, not to mention a couple of colorful old men. 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

I love this!!I love this!!
I love this!!

at the NOMA Sculpture Garden


28th October 2010
Excited about the Sox's prospects this year!

Maybe Next Year
Hopefully he'll see more than one World Championship.
28th October 2010
Photo 35

Pacifier
Wow-that freaked me out at first!
23rd November 2010

True Friends Never Lose Touch!
I think it is great that you three keep in touch all these years and over all the hundreds of miles that have separate you. I'm sure Michelle didn't need to twist your arm, Heather, for an excuse to travel! Plus, who would pass up the opportunity to see such an adorable baby??

Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1094s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb