and life goes on...


Advertisement
North America
April 5th 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It is ironic how that when things start going wrong, time seems to slow to a point that makes you wonder why in hell you don't do something to change the outcome so that you don't hurt yourself.

Why would this be important, you ask... Well, right now, I am not sure if my hip or my ego has the largest bruise. Now, I am not normally interested in bruised egos. Not yours, not mine. But, Saturday morning while poling my employer around, I placed the boat in water that was a bit too shallow.

This means I had to free the boat, requiring a bit more force on the pole to push us out of this predicament. My right foot slipped, I lost my balance and plunged to the deck and water below. No big deal you think, except that I stand up about 5 feet above the deck! Have a look here at the platform above the outboard motor. That is my work cubicle as it were...

I hit the deck with my right hip and my upper body dipped into the water. Not very glamorous. In fact, let's face it... graceless just fails to describe that fall. I am lucky that nothing was broken. So much for not having fallen in the two years I have been doing this...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb