On the way to an adventurous retirement


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Sesimbra
May 23rd 2011
Published: May 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

23 May 2011 Sesimbra

Well. I guess I have delayed writing this for as long as I can justify. It is not like I am really busy or anything. Just getting settled into a new rhythm is taking longer than I thought.

I do want to say that travel by cruise ship is much nicer than travel by airline! I will now always try to travel in this manner if the corresponding flight is longer than a few hours and there is a real option. 14 days of being spoiled, no jet lag, good food and entertainment if you want it. And you want to sit in a cramped chair, with some overweight sweating neighbor, eating bad food from a cramped tray, etc, etc, etc? I guess I will have to post a log about the cruise?...

We are uploading this using the wifi connection of the public library in Sesimbra. The hours are not advantageous nor are the days that the library is open but by sitting on the back entry of the library, you can log onto the wifi connection of the library's cafe even on days when it is closed. Added advantage is that no one else is using it and therefore it is very fast!

Sesimbra is a very nice little seaside town that most folks have never heard outside of Portugal. Of course, Nat Geo did write about it as one of the top 10 places to retire not so long ago. And just after we booked our apartment for 6 months. Sure hope it stays quiet during the weekdays. Weekends, the people of Lisbon flood the town for the beaches and seafood.

Sometime this week I will be uploading photos in another blog entry and writing a bit more about our getting settled. Until then, stay tuned...




Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb