1,650 Miles and Done........


Advertisement
North America
August 30th 2009
Published: August 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Phewwwwww, Wyoming is on longggggg State. We put in a 13.5 day and arived at the Land of Speed at midnight. It was so cool, coming into Wendover exit 4 "Bonneville Speedway".... pitch dark but I was traveling on the road so many have entered with goals before them. tommorrow we take that exit 😊

The trip is was long but really pretty cool, scenery is so beautiful compared to flatland Indiana. Could definately tell we where traveling the Plains state as there where "caution high winds" signs everywhere and the bridge overpass had WIND SOCK'S.... and road closed bericades about every 60 miles. I have a feeling winter gets pretty interesting driving around this state. HEY ART, you will have to fill us in on winters out here when we hook back up.

The only close call we had the whole trip was having to dodge Tumble weeds flying across the highway 😊. And to Misty, Thank You thank you thank you for the download, western Wyoming is a MUST for the IPOD cause I can't understand the Spanish stations and if I heard Clint Black one more time I was gonna go rope a cow it chew some tabaccie.

OH Man we did have one event, coming down a monster mountain in Wyoming (the emergency truck run off kind) we came around a corner it was like Nascar's "Big One" at Taledaga, smoke everywhere, cars skiding serious white out & smell of rubber and a white vw spinning.... I seriously pointed to the smoke and was waiting for my spotter to yell Clear High clear high. Mel was in Oh My God mode and this bug ends up against the guardrail sliding fast backwards with about a 400 foot drop to their left with debris everywhere. We would have made J. Gordon proud as we came out clean and in my mirror I saw 3 semis pulling over to help what I hope where just some seriously shaken up people. My navigators comfort level with 75mph driving (the posted speed limit Mom) became somewhat shaken at that point!

Had to grab a different hotel for the night since we got in a day early but it worked out, we stayed at the "Bonneville Motel", fitting lil stop for our first night here. OH and get this, we pulled up and where unloading the car, I looked down and said Mel, LOOK..... there in a parking spot from some lucky sole who had already been was some "salt"..... She looked at me like I was nuts, but deep down she understands. HEY atleast I didn't get down and like taste it or anything.

Got up this morning and had to walk all the way from Utah to Nevada for some Starbucks, I think I will write the company and ask why I had to walk to another state for the store that exist on every corner on every street in America.

One of the picks is looking out from pool, we have deemed it "Area 51-a". It's some kind of military setup barracks/bunkers and an air strip. We will investigate tonight once dark and see if there is anything glowing green from inside.

OK, enough rambling.... Monday is a day that only took 34 years to dream about and we will be where the Spirit of American ran her best, Tammy became the fastest woman the Brit's in their "Thrust" stole our record and Burt Munro (not Anthony Hopkins) did his thing. Until then you all have a great day, a better tommorow and next report will be LIVE FROM THE BONNEVILLE SALT FLATS.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



30th August 2009

Riding with you all the way!
Riding with you all the way. Stay safe!!!!!!!
31st August 2009

Good job....
...a 2 day run..... with intent....lol. You still have Kansas to cross coming home, keep your ipod handy.
31st August 2009

Love the photos!
I love the blog...love the photos, especially 2 states at once! Stay out of Area 51-a...definitely looks toxic!! Great luck tomorrow! Enjoy immensely and stay safe!

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb