ME ENCANTA MEXICO


Advertisement
North America
February 23rd 2008
Published: February 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, February 23, 2008.
SO AN UPDATE!!.....
So things have been crazy here over the border. I had a short stint of scorpion infestations in my room (one pregnant female, her dead mate, and two males all in five days), but things are alright now I think, the outside has been fumigated along with my room. Spanish is coming along well, although I’m having some problems with Futuro de Probabilidad (Probabilities in the Future). This week we had some students from Saratoga, CA who are seniors in High School, one of them played volleyball so I was able to practice some hits. This morning when they were leaving I helped them devise a plan for sneaking Cuban cigars into the US hopefully they won’t get caught and the government won’t read this!!
SO IM FINALLY 21….In Mexico that’s not such a big deal but hey at least now I can join the army and drink! I was so happy to see my Mommy and Daddy for my birthday, Mexico City was really cool with them, and having them meet my Mexican family was awesome. I did have a migraine by the end of the weekend from translating so much but I got some serious props from my Mexican family for doing so well.
Mexico is a beautiful and amazing country, I really never want to leave but I think the heat would kill poor Petunia (and I’ve already signed a contract to go back and work at camp!). My family is amazing, and the other semester student who lives with me, Mateo, is an awesome running buddy. I’ve made some Mexican friends which always helps, and I’m really getting to know the city. So if anyway wants to come on down in April, I’ll be hanging out in southern Mexico.
I went to a fair last Sunday with a friend of mine Miguel, who has studied at Maryland, and lived on Mink Hollow Rd!!! (Small world). It was amazing (and slightly terrifying); they had towers of fireworks and one tower that was a crucified flaming Jesus. The flaming Jesus was almost the finale and set of by a rocket which went straight over the crowd’s heads. Thank god I was on a rooftop of that thing would have hit me!!! We were hanging out on the rooftop, that unbeknownst to us was the launching point for most of the final fireworks, but with so many people we weren’t able to get off in time and fireworks starting going off in front of us and once I stopped screaming it was awesome to watch them go off right over head, no obstructions! Unfortunately one headed straight for me, Miguel pulled me out of the way but it went into the crowd and hit a women right in the torso. A few people were burned but no one really did anything. All in all a good night, tasting preserved fruit and eating tacos, and riding around the mean streets of Cuernavaca on Miguel’s bike (which his friend recently crashed) Now I’m off to a barbecue at a friends house (Who has a blind Sharpey-AWESOME) Man do I love tacos.
ADIOS AMIGOS!!! CON CUIDADO!! -Regina

PS its Cortez not Cortex….these key boards are really confusing and the ones at internet cafes are really hard to type on you have to punch the keys!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb