Hello


Advertisement
North America
September 11th 2005
Published: September 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey Everyone,

Just wanted to give you a quick update on our travels. We are in Bishop, CA for a few days. We travelled from Lassen south and stayed the night in Carson City, NV. I had to get internet for school and that was the closest city. Carson City is not fancy for being a capital. It is desert with some foothills with pine trees. Nothing spectacular at all. I did find out from my grandmother that I have family buried there. Interesting. So after we left Carson City we headed to Lee Vining where Mono Lake is located. Very beautiful place that has tufa formations coming right out of the lake. We stayed there a couple of days so that Bret could take some photos. We went to the famous ghost town of Bodie. That was great. There are about 30 buildings that are standing and they still have personal items in them that people left behind. It is the craziest thing. You can look in the windows and see beds, tables, newspapes, bottles and a million other things. We spent about 3 hours there photographing. I use 'we' because I pulled out my camera to see what I could come away with. It was fun. We spent a day driving through Yosemite National Park, which is a very beautiful place. It is a climbers haven. So much granite to climb, but we stayed in the truck. We did go to the Ansel Adams gallery which was awesome. Bret picked up a photo and poster and I bought some fabulous earrings. Ansel was such an amazing photographer. It was great to see alot of his work. After we left Lee Vining we drove through Mammoth Lakes which is a big ski area and then we headed to Bishop, CA. Before we left Mammoth Lakes Bret forgot to plug the Harvey connector into the truck so that Harvey would have lights. We did not relealize it was not connected until we go to Bishop about 40 miles away. Needless to say the cord was melted and now we get to spend time in Bishop trying to get it fixed. If we can't we won't have lights or turn signals on the back of Harvey. OOOOOPS!!! We plan on doing some bouldering in the Buttermilks and going up to the Bristle Cone Pine forest. We definitely have stuff to do
BoardwalkBoardwalkBoardwalk

This is a trail at Mono Lake that I photographed at sunset.
while we stay, plus we are expecting our school books here anyday. (Thanks mom!!!) We have come to realize that people here in good ol' cali are not so friendly. No to us outsiders anyways. I am looking forward to heading to Nevada where hopefully we will find some friendly faces. So that is it. Nothing too exciting. I have had 2 papers due so far and Bret has had to do a couple of assignments. Classes are definitely harder on the road. You can't play as much sometimes. Hope everyone is doing well.

P.S. As usual you will be getting another blog of Bret's photographs. I have attached some of the photographs that I have taken. No laughing please. I am still learning and also keep in mind I have not photoshopped any of mine. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

GasGas
Gas

This was an old gas station.
Ghost town BodieGhost town Bodie
Ghost town Bodie

In front of a hotel.
Ghost town BodieGhost town Bodie
Ghost town Bodie

Window with old old curtains. I love the way they are tattered.
Ghost town BodieGhost town Bodie
Ghost town Bodie

Just a window.
Ghost town BodieGhost town Bodie
Ghost town Bodie

Reflections. I love how you can see the reflection in the window, but you can also see what is inside. This is one of my favorites.


15th September 2005

don't do it...
don't drive without lights on Harvey...PLEASE.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb