Introductions


Advertisement
North America
August 24th 2005
Published: August 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Five law students were sharing their uneasy first day energy. Their introductions were exactly that. Then the native demonstrated their difference by taking them through his hopes, dreams, fears, and the corresponding self portraits. Mid-flight the one-China Taiwanese student interrupted him: 'excuse me, not everyone has introduced themselves yet'. 'Oh, I'm sorry, I've just been blabbing...' (not a mote of self-consciousness).

It is quite something. The fervent belief that what I believe and think is important, important enough to be transmitted in loud and exacting detail. That upon meeting me for the first time I should take the opportunity to try and convey most of myself - the remainder, the spaces that you can't see clearly, should be minimal and subject to description and then interpretation whenever possible. So that the apparent identity between how I describe myself and who I am is best used: used to let you see all of me now, at once, here, in this small room for first day enrollment.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb