Le Grande Road Trip to Amurica - Day 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
August 26th 2017
Published: August 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I15I15I15

Basking in 80 mph glory
Day 2

Coeur d’Alene to Provo




We left Coeur d’Alene with the longest single day drive on our trip ahead of us, roughly 1200km. Our day got off to a rocky start. We got onto the freeway following a large truck. Our lane was soon forced to take an exit ramp but by the time I realized this there was now a single solid white line separating our lane from the adjacent one. Like a polite Canadian motorist I signalled and shoulder-checked before changing over so I could continue on my merry way down the interstate. There was nobody behind us but there was a state trooper lying in wait at that same forced off ramp. Long story short I got a US$90 ticket for crossing a solid line like a hardened criminal. Should have played up the “out of town tourist” card a little harder I guess. She at least thanked us for wearing our seatbelts. I also got two new rock chips in my windshield (which is still the same one from the factory I will add). Truly a tragedy.

It of course wasn’t all bad out on the freeway. The interstate was
Ken DrivingKen DrivingKen Driving

Forest fires in the distance
delightful to drive on with its 80 mph speed limit and lack of disappearing lanes (the subject of my ticket notwithstanding). Traffic was light and for the most part the sights and passing scenery offered some mild entertainment. We passed an older couple on a motor-tricycle and the man driving had no helmet, an orange shirt, jeans, and a strap around his mouth. When I say strap I’m talking like “help kidnappers have taped my mouth shut”. I guess he didn’t want bugs in his mouth. Our GPS committed suicide a few times by flinging itself off the windshield. In retrospect, we probably didn’t need it up there whole drive with it saying “In 600 km, keep left”. We were perplexed by American road construction practices but not enough for me to write about it any further.

The Salt Lake City area is much bigger than I imagined. Our final drive into Provo was on an 8 lane freeway complete with toll/car pool lane. Supposedly the greater metropolitan area population is 1 million, but I suspect its way more than that. If I’m honest I’ve never wanted to get out of my car more than I did during that
DinnerDinnerDinner

Nom nom nom
final hour of driving. For dinner we went to Barasa Mexican Grill where I had a delightful chicken burrito. Ken put it best: “I would not drive 12 hours for this but after driving 12 hours this is immensely satisfying.” Right you are Ken.

I will close with today's winners of the RV game, which were "Anal Bounder", "Imagine Anal",and "Anal Storm". Also of note were "Anal Attitude", "Anal Raptor" and "Dutch Anal Star". Don't touch that dial! We'll be back with more anal recreational vehicle humor tomorrow at this same time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Practically therePractically there
Practically there

Only 1180km to go!
Southern Idaho geologySouthern Idaho geology
Southern Idaho geology

This is mostly for Matty and Denny
Humphrey IDHumphrey ID
Humphrey ID

Ken claims Humphrey is a full service town.
Sad GPSSad GPS
Sad GPS

This was his 4th jump attempt
Lava FlowLava Flow
Lava Flow

Very detailed shot (at 80mph) of an old lava flow near Idaho Falls
Pulled OverPulled Over
Pulled Over

Uh oh, it's the cops...
Bonus RV HumorBonus RV Humor
Bonus RV Humor

Hahahahaha... get it?!


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb