Cruising


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 18th 2006
Published: September 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bunny w/ Rum PunchBunny w/ Rum PunchBunny w/ Rum Punch

Okay, Bunny didn't make this trip. I forgot to bring Bunny. I almost went and bought another "photo-frend". This is our upgraded balcony.
So we went on our first cruise. It was a short 2 day repositioning cruise from Vancouver to LA on the Island Princess. Just enough to get a taste of this way of travelling. We had lots of fun but it was just a little too relaxed for us. There were a surprising number of activities but line-dancing and trivia aren't normally on the top of my list for things to do. (Yes, I went line-dancing!!)

We spent the days wandering around the ship, napping, eating and the aforementioned line-dancing. We even went to afternoon tea and a champagne art auction. I fell in love again with Michael Goddard art. Still couldn't justify spending $$ for a piece even though it was a great deal. Maybe one day when we have more than 8 walls to hang things up on.

Food was plentiful if a little bland. We went for a midnight snack at the buffet just because we could. Another night we ordered in to watch the sunset from our balcony. Luckily, I didn't get a chance to overindulge because the seas were a little rough the first day so I was feeling a little seasick. I couldn't
Sunset from the BalconySunset from the BalconySunset from the Balcony

It was nice to not have to fight for deck chairs.
figure at first why I was staggering around at noon and was trying to figure out if I'd started drinking but forgotten.

Every night there were very good shows and we timed it watch both shows. My favourite was a shortened version of "The Piano Man". I think R's was the "Tribute" night were they started out with tributes to the Rat Pack. There was music, comedians and even a magician. All to soon we pulled into port at LA.

On to Vegas, baby!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Shopping Mall or Cruise Ship?Shopping Mall or Cruise Ship?
Shopping Mall or Cruise Ship?

Same thing? There's food, shopping and entertainment. :)
Promenade DeckPromenade Deck
Promenade Deck

This is when I realized I was on the "Love Boat"...exciting and new. Come aboard, we're expecting yooooouuuu!
Mini-GolfMini-Golf
Mini-Golf

We went and played Mini-Golf while waiting to disembark from the ship.
LA in the MorningLA in the Morning
LA in the Morning

6am. That's all I'm going to say.


29th September 2006

Vegas?!?!
Where are the pic's from Vegas? where did you stay? Get on-line...
30th September 2006

Cruising can wait
Cruishing can wait...I would rather go hiking up the mountain and walk in the national parks for as long as I can.

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb