Full Circle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 22nd 2006
Published: September 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello

It's really hard to find the right words to describe how i am feeling right now.

So i'll wrap it up.

My last days in Iceland were very nice. The hot springs and sauna each morning were needed very much. The hot pots were outdoors and some mornings the rain would pour down from the heavens while you were soaking.
I had much time for reverie and i loved my last location.

I flew out and landed in New York later in the evening. It was raining in the city so i couldn't be bothered to take the train in to roam the streets of NYC all night and then catch my early morning flight out to the west coast.
So I wandered the terminals of JFK all night and got a little sleep in the corner of one of em.
When i arrived on the west coast the next morning, my sister and father were there waiting for me at the airport. It was so great to see their faces. I was really surprised to see him there. He had never been to California despite my sisters' constant invites. I was glad to see him and i think he made a wise decision for different reasons.

It was good to be in the states again. I love my country for many reasons. I choose not to think or dwell on the others at this time.

It hurt to leave my journey and the wonder of each day. The unknown and my ability to absorb it and roll on was really gratifying. That life was all that i had come to know and it was like a warm blanket. But, the journey is life-long.

My hopes and ideas i had for this world; it's land and it's people, were vivified by my amazing and soul-enriching experiences.
I love the path I have chosen through this world and the places i have chosen to explore have been burning with the pure curiosity of the unknown. My knowledge of this world; it's peoples, landscapes, smells, tastes, it's way simply has grown exponentially. The gaps in my mind have been filled but many more have been revealed.
As i have travelled, as i sit here on the beach, each time i think about a place i have been, a euphoric high/sensation comes over me, a total body high. My heart pounds and I long to return.

I may be the most fortunate person in this world. I know that and i am so grateful. I thank my father and mother first for my upbringing and instilling in me the appreciation and love of travel. They have given me much and sacrificed much to give Jillyan and I a great life. I worked very hard to ensure my college years were paid for and i was one of the few who finished free of debt. I thank my mom for taking care of my pup while i was gone. They have bonded during this time and that makes me smile. I also thank my aunt Jean who was nice enough to hire her nephew to help remodel in Santa Fe. The funds earned there covered all my extra costs and emergency expenditures. Thank You. Anna thanks you too for the summer vacation she got.
I thank everyone who followed me and supported me. All my friends and family. I know my sister and many of the residents at her facility in Carlsbad enjoyed hearing of the times and seeing the sights. Yesterday, I spent 90 minutes speaking to a group of 60 at her facility. I hope they enjoyed the images.

MY JOURNEY OF 2006 -- 250 DAYS


My path around this beautiful world led me through the following countries (in order)

America
Fiji
New Zealand
Thailand
China
Mongolia
Russia
Ukraine
Turkey
Bulgaria
Romania
Hungary
Slovak Rep.
Poland
Czech Rep.
Germany
Netherlands
Scotland
England
Iceland
America

250 days == nearly 9 Months

The total cost (flights and All costs) came to just under $ 11,000 dollars

I have been asked by many my favorites.....
so....


BEST PLACE OVERALL

New Zealand. Paradise. For all the reasons given months ago. It had it all.

*close behind.... Turkey and Iceland


BEST CITY

Amsterdam. It is unique to the world, on many levels. Everything awaits you...


WORST PLACE

Russia. Depressing. The people and the lands. I can tell you why in detail when i see you


MOST UNDERRATED PLACE

Turkey. The Northeast parts of the country are unknown and untouched by tourists. The Muslims are pure and they will love you.


MOST OVERRATED PLACE

Thailand. I can find good places anywhere but for many reasons this place was not as advertised.


BEST FOOD

Turkey & Thailand. I have to let these two heavyweights battle it out.


Boyz - MOST BEAUTIFUL WOMEN ARE IN..

Krakow, Poland - pure quality
Moscow, Russia - pure numbers
Reykjavik, Iceland - ahhh , those Viking bloodlines
Amsterdam, Holland - international mix .. well done


FIRST PLACE I WILL RETURN TO

Iceland or Turkey... to share it with someone and to see my friends.


MY NEXT BIG TRIP WILL BE TO

Central Asia (hopefully)



Well, that settles that i guess.

It was really great to see my mother again. She and my pup anna came a few days later to see me. I will head out with her in the morning. It was great to see her smile. I am very fortunate to have such a wonderful, loving, and supportive mother.
Anna didn't know what to think at first. She circled me, smelling the air, gave me a couple of woofs and then slowly moved in to smell my face. Then she exploded and licked and jumped on me for 5 minutes. I missed her.

It has been good to hear my music again for i didn't have any while travelling. The beach and the weather here have been perfect this week. Jill and Ryan have a great place here.

I had a camera malfunction my first month in New Zealand and shipped it home along with its memory chip ( I thought both were ruined). I plugged the old chip into my new camera and wouldn't you know it.......there were 150 pictures of NZ i thought were lost for good. I was so happy.
And yeah....


Just wait till you all see my images. just wait......over 600 of em


Well. Yes. How fast that time went by. I will miss my friends all over this world very very much.

I hope with all my heart to see them again one day.

I will miss all the great times with them, the festivals and holidays, the mountains, rivers, valleys, the sunsets and sunrises, the unknown and the hard times as well. I learned from them all.

I feel i have changed inside. Yes

Nobody in this world had the times i did nor followed the path i did. I just wish you could have felt and seen what i had the opportunity to do and see. For your soul


Yes, Scott, the journey is lifelong and these lessons and times are just stops along the way. Great insight. Thank you...

The world is changing. The political climate is transforming. You really don't get the whole story with the media here. So get out now. Don't wait...



I really can't wait to see you all. I have so much to share and to show. Soon i hope. I can't wait to start climbing and doing All the things i love to do.

I may be homeless, penny less, jobless and car-less but i am the richest person in this world. Thats how i feel.


I lost my last grandparent the night i got in. My father burried his father yesterday. I feel for him. Losing a parent is nothing i want to think about right now.

All i want is great things for everyone.



I have made a real effort to keep in contact at least every 10 days. It has been great to share this with so many who care. I do miss you and i love you.

I can't wait to see you. Whenever that will be.


These foreign lands have been more amazing and the relationships made have been more enriching than i could've ever dreamed. Now, reflecting back, i still can't sit still or hold a thought.


I will go. The best year of my life is winding down.

But not until I feel the warm sun on my face and the dry wind of the plateau at my back will i know.....when i feel that i am home. The 4-corners / Colorado Plateau is where the heart is.

I choose to see the good and i love this world.


Goodbye


and have a great fall...

Love
Jonathan






















Advertisement



25th September 2006

thank you for taking us on your journey, however vicariously so. hope to see your slideshow some day. welcome home

Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb