The Plug People


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
February 12th 2015
Published: February 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

If you have ever traveled internationally, you know that one of the most important considerations when packing electronics is to determine what type of plug will fit the local wall outlets and if you need to have a voltage converter. Now, while I know that the discovery of electricity cannot be contributed to one guy flying a kite in a lightning storm, I do not know who decided what the plugs on electrical appliances should look like and what voltage each country should run on. And, why didn't all those folks sit down together and come up with one standard plug and one standard voltage that works for everyone? I was pondering this in the shower tonight (that's where I do my best thinking, of course, don't you?) as I was thinking about what I have left to toss in my bag. I was trying to decide if I should take my hair dryer and risk having it blow up if I don't have the right voltage converter. Then I thought I could just wait and buy a hair dryer in New Zealand. But, if I do that, I will come back here with a brand new hair dryer with a funky plug that will require a converter to be used in my own bathroom. Either way, the situation is not ideal. That made me think that maybe I should be the one to invent some sort of traveler hand-me-down box that can be installed just outside of passport control in airports where people like me can shop for free items like hair dryers and flat irons when visiting foreign countries. Then, when I go back to the airport to head home, I can return said appliance to the box for the next person to find. A brilliant idea. Unfortunately, that pondering was pondered nearly an hour ago now, and I still haven't tossed the darn thing in my bag. Guess I should finish packing considering we leave for the airport in only 7.5 hours. I can't even believe tomorrow is Day One of our month-long trip. Where did the time go?!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb