2012 CHAPTER 10: NEW JERSEY AND NEW YORK


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
May 30th 2012
Published: August 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

West Point MuseumWest Point MuseumWest Point Museum

The museum sits about three blocks from the Academy grounds.
May 2-7--I think I walked enough yesterday to last me a few days! I continued my drive up the coastline of NJ, but not exploring much. I have many impressions of this state, not the least of which is busy! I stayed off the turnpike, doing my usual thing of taking a state highway instead. I'm glad I am meandering and not in a hurry to get anywhere. There is so much traffic and so many towns. I had to laugh at one speed limit sign that said 55. I never got over 35. There were towns one right after another, all full of stoplights. One would be hard put to get to 55! The other thing that slowed me down was the condition of the roads. I guess with such heavy use it is hard to keep them up, but the potholes were endless. I may wind up getting a new suspension system.

Bootsie—I have changed where I ride in the RV now. The thing jostles up and down so much that I worry about something falling on me. I think under Marty's driving seat is probably safe, so I spend my time there! I like being close to her anyway. Sometimes if things get too bumpy, I will climb up in her lap. I think she likes that because she pets me a lot! Sometimes I will sit up and look out the window, but things get a little blurry and I can't really see anything. Some days I wonder if I really like this traveling business.

As I drive, I pass a lot of nurseries. I can see why NJ is called the “Garden State”. These businesses are usually well landscaped and display many many colorful flowers and plants. They are eye-candy for traveling down the road.

I spent two nights at the Navy Weapons Station in Earle. I haven't driven a long way each day, but have been boon-docking a lot. Time to refill the fresh water tank, dump the used ones and get a nice, long hot shower.

After leaving Earle, I head to the interstate. I never thought I would say I was glad to be on one, but it is nice to make a little time and not have to stop every few minutes for another stop light! I am bypassing the big city. I have no desire to try
West Point ReplicaWest Point ReplicaWest Point Replica

This replica shows how the Academy is designed.
to drive through New York which is where I-95 and other interstates lead. I elect to take 287 around it. The Big Apple will have to wait another time for a visit.

May 7—I arrived in the town of West Point on the Hudson River. The towns along this part of the river are quaint and charming and the Hudson Valley is, indeed, beautiful. I am disappointed that I am unable to get onto the grounds of the Academy itself because there is no place to park the RV. I content myself to walk around the town and to visit the West Point Museum. The museum gave a lot of information about the academy, such has having a display of the various uniforms worn for different occasions, a replica of a dorm room and a “diary” of a typical day of a cadet. It is an interesting place and features not only info about the Academy itself, but about the strategic location this area played in the Revolution.

In 1777, the Continental Congress recognized that the Hudson River offered a tempting thoroughfare for the British to come down from Fort Ticonderoga and attack New York City. They sent
Academy Dorm RoomAcademy Dorm RoomAcademy Dorm Room

A typical dorm room at the West Point Academy
a team up the Hudson to find a good place to set up a defense. Although fairly straight between New York City and Albany, the Hudson River makes three bends in that span. The bend at West Point is the sharpest, the river is at it's narrowest and the hills in the area make an ideal place for a defensive set up. There was already a defensive post on Constitution Island, the opposite bank, the west point of the river bend was ideal for a more serious post. The Continental Army arrived in January 1778 and has been there ever since. This makes West Point the longest continuously active military post in the nation.

While I was there I photographed some of the pretty churches and a row of blooming lilacs. What a wonderful smell. I have always confused wisteria and lilacs before, but don't think I will any more.

As I left West Point and followed the highway on north, I got to view the “backside” of the academy. I saw their football stadium and the way the campus sits on the bank of the river. I also got a good look at the way the river
Church in West Point Church in West Point Church in West Point

One of the many beautiful churches in the town of West Point.
does bend there. I watched one of the Hudson River Ferries going downriver and snapped a pic of it.

A look at my map told me Hyde Park is just a little ways north of West Point on a drive which continues to follow the Hudson River. Franklin Roosevelt's official library, museum and home is there, so that makes it a worthwhile visit for my. I crossed the Hudson (a huge river) on the I-84 toll bridge and at Fishkill (and a barrel-shaped church) turn north again. Judging from the names of the towns I have gone through in this area I think the “kill” ending is German for a river. Guess I will have to look that up to be sure. The green, rolling hills are certainly restful to the eye. It must be beautiful here in the fall. After crossing the bridge I stopped at a city park beneath it

Hyde Park itself is not a large town and FDR's home and library are easy to find. The grounds are beautiful with big trees and expansive lawns. The house at Hyde Park actually belonged to FDR's mother while she was alive and very much reflected her
The Bend in the RiverThe Bend in the RiverThe Bend in the River

This view shows the bend in the Hudson (One of only three between Albany and NYC) that made the West Point site so strategic during the Revolution.
personality. Eleanor found her mother-in-law controlling and never felt comfortable at Hyde Park so she built herself a cottage in town where she spent most of her time. She also established the Val-kill industries there. This project was primarily a cottage industry to help the people of the area make a living. I've forgotten just what all they made, but I do know a lot of wood furniture was one of the primary items. I didn't take the time to go over to Val-kill and will probably regret it later!

Hyde Park was just one of several mansions built along the river in this area. The Vanderbilts also had a home there and it, too, may be visited. Information about Hyde Park said it was a very “modest” structure compared to the Vanderbilt and other mansions. The house sits on a hill which, in the past, would have overlooked the Hudson River. The trees are so large now, however, that the water cannot be seen. Our tour guide indicated the trees were scheduled to be cut back at a later date so the view will be restored to what it used to be.

I was pleased that we
From the HillsideFrom the HillsideFrom the Hillside

A view of the Academy campus from an overlooking hill.
were allowed to take pictures inside the home. All the items inside are the originals used by the Roosevelt Family, most of it of the Victorian design. I am amused at this and other Victorian homes I have seen in that every drawing room has a piano which is absolutely smothered by photographs. It would take an hour to uncover the piano if anyone ever decided to play it!

The library was awe inspiring. It really was a library with books from floor to ceiling and desks for studying. The bedrooms were all upstairs and yes, there was an elevator for FDR to use. Eleanor and FDR had separate bedrooms, with “Mama” Roosevelt's very close by. I often wonder about the relationship between Franklin and Eleanor. There is no question of the deep respect and, I guess, love they had for one another, but they sure seemed to go their different ways and keep different company. They did make an awesome political/governmental pair, however.

The museum on the grounds was undergoing some renovation and construction, so we didn't get to see much of it. There was, however, a collection of photographs displayed in the building which was open.
More West PointMore West PointMore West Point

A view of the Academy overlooking the football field and showing the geographical situation overlooking the river. Note that football footnote!
One picture was of FDR on a donkey with his dog “Budgy”. This was taken in 1885. I thought he looked like a girl! I took two more pictures of photos of him—one in 1932—and one in 1945. The difference in the way he looked and how he had aged astounded me.

There was a picture of Eleanor when she was four. She was such a pretty little girl, but her looks didn't stay with her! Finally, there was one other picture that moved me almost to tears. It showed Eleanor carrying her bags across an airport tarmac in 1960. Here was this internationally known woman, beloved by so many, who had done so much in her role as First Lady of Washington, then of the world, carrying her own bags and all alone. It spoke volumes to me.

The tombstone for both FDR and Eleanor is a plain white one located in a garden area by the stables. Nothing was blooming while I was there, so it looked like just a plain grassy area. FDR's dog Fala is buried behind the large stone. An iron statue of Fala greets the visitors as they enter the house and
West Point on the HudsonWest Point on the HudsonWest Point on the Hudson

The river frontage of the Academy
says goodbye as they leave.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Hudson River FerryHudson River Ferry
Hudson River Ferry

One of the ferries that ply the river from various destinations down to NYC
Barn-shaped ChurchBarn-shaped Church
Barn-shaped Church

The trees prevented me from getting a better picture of the barn shape to part of a church in Fishkill, NY
Colonial HouseColonial House
Colonial House

I liked the odd shape of this colonial house in Fishkill, NY.
Bridge on the River HudsonBridge on the River Hudson
Bridge on the River Hudson

This bridge is part of I-84 and is a toll bridge.
Tea with the RooseveltsTea with the Roosevelts
Tea with the Roosevelts

This welcoming statue is outside the museum on Hyde Park grounds.
Hyde ParkHyde Park
Hyde Park

Roosevelt's home in the Hudson River Valley, NY. Said to be much less pretentious than many of the neighboring mansions, such as that of the Vanderbilts.
The Drawing Room Hyde ParkThe Drawing Room Hyde Park
The Drawing Room Hyde Park

Wonder why they called it the drawing room? Did anybody draw? Did anyone ever take all those pictures off that piano and actually play it?
The Library at Hyde ParkThe Library at Hyde Park
The Library at Hyde Park

Not much need to go the public library--they had their own.
FDR's Bedroom Hyde ParkFDR's Bedroom Hyde Park
FDR's Bedroom Hyde Park

Eleanor had a separate bedroom on one side of Roosevelt's. Mother Sara had her bedroom on the other side.
Roosevelt Museum at Hyde ParkRoosevelt Museum at Hyde Park
Roosevelt Museum at Hyde Park

The museum was undergoing renovation when I was there so there were no displays, only a photo collection in some of the rooms.
FDR as a ChildFDR as a Child
FDR as a Child

FDR on a donkey along with his dog Budgy. The photo was taken on the grounds of Hyde Park.
EleanorEleanor
Eleanor

Eleanor Roosevelt at age four. Did you know that she was a distant cousin to FDR? They met at family gatherings.


10th August 2012

Probably good idea to skip NYC. Better to fly in & do the tourist thing by cab & hotel. Maybe it can be a girls trip in the future. Take care of yourself. U truly r amazing doing all this amazing travieling. Again I'm not sure how u & Bootsie do it. Gr
Oops. I put it all In the title. I am so technology challenged even when I try...

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb