Sunshine and Smiles


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 16th 2012
Published: July 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

<span><span>I started this entry on my last beautiful day in Southern California -<span>
<span>


<span><span><span><span>sunshine, crowds and queues and more queues - the Disney Parks are heaving today and while most people are good natured about the waits and shut rides (even in amusement park paradise, the technology can have a hissy fit), I have twice been caught in couple spat zones - it's hard work looking disinterested when all sorts of shortcomings are detailed. Wow! He's not gonna bounce back from that assessment quickly!

<span>But now I am in the single rider queue in an effort to get in one more thrill before I head for home. I have a dark suspicion that all this adrenalin may not be good for me - but the mad professor laughter most certainly is good for me! Have greatly enjoyed the endless smiles at the corny and the sweet, funny and droll. Quick conversations with the likewise enchanted and delighted. The attention to detail in the rides, waiting areas, even rubbish bins is astounding! Nothing is accidental - They even have dedicated areas for service dogs to relieve themselves - saw a JR service dog this morning - there were comment to the effect that this was an unusual breed to choose - they are loyal, smart and feisty, so a good if unorthodox choice I think!

<span>Disneyland is made for freaks like me - I can and do sing in public as those who know me well can attest - am also keen to get my groove on whenever & wherever (gym, supermarket, bus stop) - D-land is actually filled with staff who are compelled (by their natures or contracts) to behave in the same manner! Of course it's not real, but reality comes soon and hard enough. And the rides let me scream and laugh in equal measures - bliss! Wonderful to wear your joy on the outside as much as you can.

<span>Logistically, Singles are useful for filling gaps in seating, and my willingness to opt in has moved me ahead under the malevolent gaze of the en-toddlered. You breed, you pay! And am back on the California Screaming :-)

<span>Disney parks are not for the weak of heart or sore of foot! I schlepped multiple miles across both parks in an effort to squeeze the life put of my pass- my blisters from the Vegas flip-flop dash have SoCal cousins now - but missing out bugs me ! Although, I did see a woman breast feeding a baby on a space ride - that's hardcore dedication to not missing out. And that's been an important lesson for me - don't miss out if you can help it.

<span>As I have some time before I leave, here are some thoughts on my fantastic opportunity. This trip was a very self-indulgent reward for finally getting my life in (mostly) order - it was about my health & fitness in the main, but also my inner life. Changing the outside is one thing (a huge bloody thing make no mistake and still on-going), but the inside changes are harder and trickier to embed - my lust for ice cream can be sated or suppressed, but my anxiety and sadness continue to challenge me on many days. And being anxious and sad makes me miss out. Can't be a passenger in your own life, peeps. Gotta carpe diem the hell out of it, coz we're dust soon enough.

<span>So what better way to become more resilient than to give everything a shot - and to do it in places where everything is new, everyone is new and so nothing is lost by trying with an open heart and mind ... Absolutely nothing.

<span>I've travelled tens of thousands of km across two incredible countries and met some amazing, generous and joyful people - old friends and new. I have travelled by huge planes, sea planes, kayaks, helicopters, boats, buses, trains, cars and in the end rocket ships!

<span>Seems right - when I first same to the US in 1979, I was too young to ride SPACE MOUNTAIN alone - worn out parents and a littler sister, who was right to distrust my craving for speed, meant i missed out - Didn't miss out this time. And if I do again, it won't be because I am too fearful to try. Not anymore, peeps

<span>Thanx for keeping me company and see you on the journey ahead

<span><span><span><span>




<span>Sent from my iPhone

Advertisement



18th July 2012

We've all been there.
Your blogs have been great fun to read and your honesty is refreshing. I have shared similar feelings and I guess it is why I am trying to enjoy each day I have on this earth- and why I'm trying to see as much of it as I can. You have worked hard to get where you are at physically and emotionally. Enjoy your success!
19th July 2012

Thanks, my friend - its easy to be interested in the world, when I have such interesting buddies - will you be blogging your African adventure - I'd love to read that!
18th July 2012

What a joy it has been
I Have SOOOO loved reading your blogs and although your explaination of your experiences in Canada was a fav, I actaully think this one about joy and growth is my fav! Luv you! See you soon! :)
19th July 2012

Thanks, Marnie - Canada was such a joy! Thank you again for the lovely stay ... invitation stands down under!
19th July 2012

Very inspiring and moving hun. What a wonderful journey for you (in more ways than the obvious). See you soon x PS 'you breed, you pay' love it!
19th July 2012

thank you for your comments and support - not just on the blog either ... see you next Sunday, honey!

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb