RIHLA #26


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
April 16th 2012
Published: April 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Top 10 Best Experiences:

1) Being apart of the Cadaver Lab Enrichment at UIC for Anatomy class.

It has really opened my eyes about what Anatomy class would be like in college and just being really shocked and amazed on how many arteries, veins, muscles, etc that we have in our body and how everything has a name. It is really fun and I have an awesome time dissecting cadavers and exploring the body at hand.

2) Finance Enrichment:

Being apart of the Finance Enrichment in March was hard work, but was rewarding. Going to class two times per week after school really helped me significantly in class. I felt more clear and confident in what I was learning in class because we had reviewed it in the enrichment class the night before. I also learned more about investing in stocks and let my competitive side come out.

3) Traveling to Parris Island, SC for a MCJROTC orientation trip

It was a really motivating and an awesome time. I bonded and worked as a team with other cadets from other Noble schools which was really a cool experience. I also stepped out of my comfort zone A LOT when I went to PI freshman year. I had to take on leadership postitions in front of at least 90 other cadets, rappel off a 45 ft high tower, shot rifles, and exercised. Everything tested me mentally and physically.

4) Color Guard

Being apart of Color Guard in MCJROTC for four years has given more experences that I thought I would never do in a lifetime. When I went to Golder to take my enterance exam I seen their Color Guard present the colors and thought to myself, "what did they do to join?" When I came to UICCP, I joined MCJROTC without knowing Color Guard was affiliated with the program, and I got chosen to be a member of it. I got to present the colors at Chicago Bulls games, Chicago Bears games, and Chicago Wolves games. Joining JROTC has been the best choice I made.

5) Green Team

I joined the Green Team freshman year lead by Mr. Saken. I thought it was a really cool program and was one of the first enrichment classes I joined while at UIC, so I was really excited about it. I learned about recycling and how to make the world, community, and school a cleaner and safer place. We were the first Green Team that instilled recycling cans and boxes in all of the classrooms.

6) Information session about Criminal Justice

Earlier in the year, I attented an infomation session lead my Ms. Held's sister who was a police officer for a couple years. She talked about her experiences in law, what police officers or law members do on a daily basis, what it means to be a woman in law enforcement, and listened to her success stories. It was really interesting because I have always been interested in criminal justice and when I listened to what she said about the field, I was more intrigued. I know when I go to college I am going to take an Intro class about criminal justice and see if it is the right fit for me.

7) After School Matters-Nutrition Smart Media

The summer of my freshman year, I was in this program ASM that focused on Nutrition and Media. Throughout the six weeks in the summer, I learned about how to eat healthy and how to use a video camera. We got to make some of the healthy food recipes we learned about in class and had to create a nutrition video with the new camera skills we just learned about.

8) Pilot Lesson

This is another experience I would have never gotten if I wasn't in JROTC. I, including one other cadet, got chose to take a private flying lesson in October. I thought it was the most awesome experience I could have ever asked for. I got to fly the plane with my own hands, make 360 degree turns over Lake Michigan, fly around the Willis Tower, fly over my house, and land the plane. It was so beautiful and will never forget one minute of it.

9) Cheerleading

I was apart of the Cheerleading squad freshman year and was really fun. I learned how to be more outgoing and show school spirit. We also had a lock in at the school with only the girls on the squad and that was fun and had a lot of bonding time.

10) Open House volunteer for incoming Freshman

This was fun because I got to speak to the students of incoming freshman and helped give a MCJROTC information session to all of the students. I talked to some of the parents about JROTC and had students come up to me and was interested in the uniform I was wearing and how I liked the school. It is really nice doing open houses because you get to introduce yourself and engage in the next class of firecats.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb