Oh So Thankful for Spring Valley Academy!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
November 11th 2011
Published: November 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Spring Valley is a place close to my heart. The history is written in previous blogs. It is a place of rescue and hope to the broken hearted. It is where people come to have their broken wings bandaged and a place they can heal and learn to soar.

Here are a few stories of lives that have been blessed due to the endless efforts of Pastor Stanley, his wife and the staff...
(English is not the first language of many of these kids. Most of them go to school and become trilingual!).

Brian's story
My Name is Brian. I am 13 years old i am in class 8. I am the only child in my family. I live with my grand mother and my mother. My father died when i was 4 years old! I loved my father so much because we used to look alike. My father was a businessman and my mother was a house wife. My father used to drink alcohol very much and that is what led to his death!

Before He died we used to live at an area called Dandora which is about 17kilometers from spring valley. When my father died
we went back to my grand mother's house where we live in even today. My grand mother knew of spring valley and teaher alice and she brought me to spring valley where i have been going to school up to now that i am in class 8!

To me spring valley church and school is my second home! God has used Pastor and teacher Alice to give me to take care of me in providing lunch, breakfast, very good education, clothes,tooth brushes,shoes, innerwears, and they have really taught me the values of life such as integrity, hardwork, honesty, responsibility and they have given me hope!

Even though my father is dead Teacher Jesse has been like a father to me! He is my role model!

I really thank the Lord for all the things spring vally has done for me.

Im working hard at school because i was to pass on My KCPE exams!

Dennis' story
My Name is Dennis. I am 14 years old and the old child in my family.I have a mother but my father is dead! My father died when i was young but i still recall the events that led to his death. My father came home in the evening after work and he was complining that He was not feeling well. When my mother asked him which disease he was suffring from he refused to say. After a few months his condition became worse and he was taken to the hospital and he was admitted there and he remained there for a couple of months before he died.

I dropped out of school where i was going to learn. I became a street boy and i would go to the garbage and collect left over food.

Pastor and teacher alice came to learn of my situation and they welcomed me to their home where i stayed for a couple of weeks before my mother came for me.

I am now a student of spring valley baptist school! Im in class7 and i am working hard in school because i want to be a successful man when i grow up!

At spring valley i am fed with breakfast and lunch, i get very good education! We are taught the Word of God and i thank the Lord because Jesus has used spring valley baptist church and school to bring a difference in my life! God bless. Dennis

These are just two of 350 children's stories. In order for Spring Valley to feed and educate the children next year we need monthly supports and/or some one time donations. This Thanksgiving, would you consider sending the equivalent of what a Thanksgiving dinner would cost? A donation of $20 will feed a kid for a month...can you imagine how many kids a whole thanksgiving dinner will feed?!

Thanksgiving~Thanking God for what we've got...and knowing it is more than what a majority of the world has. Then, thanking Him through our actions.

I thank all of you who have helped with the people and projects with whom we partner. Let's keep on changing lives! I am thankful for you!

Happy Thanksgiving,
Jennifer, Johnny and ITHM

Tax-deductible checks can be sent to:

ITHM
23223 South Warmstone Way
Katy, TX 77494

Advertisement



16th November 2011

Happy Thanksgiving!!
Hi, Are you guys still in South Africa or back in Texas? I haven't heard from your mom for a while. Pray all of you are fine. I can just imagine how big Jonathon is getting. Would love to see you guys. Are ther any plans to come to PA this year? Well Happy Thanksgiving to each of you and may God bless your obedience. Love to each of you. Sandy Swoager

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb