Day 30 - Home at Last!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
March 6th 2011
Published: March 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hard as it may be to believe --- we made it!

8600 miles in thirty days, there and back again -- just like a regular (but somewhat taller) Bilbo Baggins, I'm back in the comfortable surroundings of hearth and home.

Not much navigation was required today, we left Erie in a hard, pouring rain and went to Tonawanda to pick up a small engine that John had bought on Ebay. After that, Tom's Motor Freight continued on the well known route east along the NYS Thruway to Syracuse.

From there, it felt like we were already home. I remember a time when Syracuse seemed pretty far afield, but now, I guessed I could easily push the Tub home if that was required. It wasn't -- we ran all the way up to the bridge, on to Rt 12, a single "Loser Lap" around the hopping streets of Alex Bay, and then north to Kring Point Road and HOME!!

I got a warm welcome from Cathy, with a space cleared for the car in the garage and even a sign, very nice!

Just enjoying the moment now, and thinking about all the places we've been in these last 30 days, what a trip it was!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



6th March 2011

your secret is out
Well Tom, the last photo confirms what we've all suspected about your mileage - your car is actually a hybrid, I've spotted that Briggs Vtwin you've cleverly hidden away in the passenger's foot well! If I look further and spot evidence of a bran muffin and other health food residue, the jury is in, you've gone green on us. Glad you're home w/o incident! j.
6th March 2011

Whats next in your bucket list?? and what did you name that sweet little red car ??Did you bust the champagne bottle on the car before of after your trip ?? Bet you were met by whole Megan clan. Wayne Russel would be proud of you as we all are !! Love to you all. Mary and Art
13th April 2011

Watkins Glen
So I've really enjoyed your "Garrison Keeler" approach to cross country travels. Thought maybe you could share results of the Watkins Glenn competition, or am I too early?
17th April 2011

Thanks Marty!
Glad you enjoyed my miscellaneous ramblings. It was a dream trip for us for sure. Steve Hart and I successfully completed the Green Grand Prix on Friday. I can't report on results yet, as I'm still waiting for the final numbers to be posted, but it was great fun to drive the circuit!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb