Getting there...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
March 4th 2011
Published: March 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Right now I’m working so much that I’ve just been putting my nose down and watching one foot move in front of the other. I’m still working at a wine and cigar shop, and now also programming cultural events for a local think tank, and also the new demo girl for a local salsa company - and still making radio when I can. And as this world works, still not getting much done in the way of saving money. The biggie is I’m running from one job to another and/or having meetings out in town so that some days I’ve spent more than I’ve made (hard to keep a financial or physical balance when constantly in flux and hypoglycemic). So to keep things in line I’ve started always carrying nuts, dried fruit and water with me. For anyone who’s seen my blood sugar drop I don’t have to tell you how ugly it can be.

With all the “Work” work, my trip planning feels like it’s taken a back seat and I don’t like that at all. So now I treat it like a 5th job, carving out time to dedicate to this amazing thing I’m about to do; to not only dedicate time to it but to savor the planning and dreaming of it.

My buddy Kenny gave the Cruiser some TLC, replacing Zerks (?), greasing the car up, tightening rear brakes. He says my driver’s side ball joint is leaking, and that I’ve got a nail in my passenger-front tire, and that there’s more to check out. I’ll take the big work to my regular mechanic at Micky’s but I’m incredibly thankful to have a mechanically-inclined pal giving to the cause. K’s also going to help me build my bed platform, too!

And in and around all this I’m now wondering if Orlando will help get me on the road? Individuals, yes, but as a whole? The trouble is we’re all struggling financially, all trying to make our dreams come true and the majority of us feel tapped out and tired. And though I’ve had pretty good luck inspiring locals to give to other causes – they were often injury-related traumatic events; whereas mine seems like I’m asking for a vacation. The truth is that in at least two instances the planning of this trip (and the love of my nephew) seemed like my sole sources of light. This isn’t a vacation, this is a journey, a calling. And it’s a thank you and a payback to the thing that kept me tethered.

I’ve got cool stuff to get rid of, still too many copies of my book, and the need to get a financial cushion set up. This journey will happen, but how I’m sent off may play a large part in how and why I return.

Thanks to all who have offered their support to date – the ideas, the encouragement, the donations, the coin. The adventure continues…




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb