In Costa Maya, Mexico...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
April 12th 2006
Published: April 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

I'm really sorry for not writing sooner, but it's been a crazy 4 days since I left Heathrow airport. I finally had some good luck on the plane ride over to Chicago, I had a 2 sear section to myself, and I swear I've been taking showers daily, so it's not because they didn't want to put someone near me. I gave out some mini-chocolate bars to the flight attendants, and it was basically just to be nice to them, since they have a pretty tough job. before we landed one of them dropped a bottle of Brut in my lap, a small gift from the crew. I think I'm going to keep it for my 30th B-Day coming up in July. Anyway, I was going against the clock coming back, so I was pretty tired, then my flight to Houston was delayed 3hrs, and we landed in Houston so late that the shuttle service to the hotel was over for the night. I had no US cash on me (O'Hare and Houston airports had not cash machines or exchange counters where I was, which sucked). I had to make a deal with a cab driver to get me to the hotel, and I would exchange some traveller's cheques at the counter. I check in at 2am, and stumble into the room knowing I had to be at the front lobby for 630am for pickup to the ship. It was after I dropped my bags did I realize that there was someone else in my room sleeping, which the front desk failed to mention to me. Seems like Princess Cruises likes to save money on rooms by bunking people up.

Anyway, the first day was alot of .....hurry up and wait, go to the port as fast as possible and wait to get on board. Hurry to get to security to wait to be screened....you get the picture. My room on the ship is tiny, but cosy. My roomate is a guy from France named Florian which so far has been great. He's really cool, I work with him in the Seabreeze bar on the top deck where I get to wear a tacky coloured ensemble of teal & white striped shorts and a short sleeve shirt, but it is outside, I wear sunglasses and enjoy the great weather. I have never made so many blended drinks in my life. Oh well. The first time we left port, it took me a few minutes to realize that we were moving. I was making a pina colada, looked up and freaked out to see the city of Galveston moving, it was the weirdest sensation after being on land for so long. Back to the bars...I work at up to 4 bars a day, all different, and I'm learning so many new drinks. I've finally figured out how to get places on the ship, I got lost my first 2 days, I had no idea where I was going half the time. What passengers see of the ship, compare to our internal halls and rooms is such a stark contrast. Everyone on board is great, but it has been mentally draining having to learn so many new things. I've yet to get off the ship, but I think that'll happen tomorrow, somewhere in Mexico. We were in Belize yesterday, which I wouldn't mind seeing on my own after the cruise.

I'm going to end it right here, but I'll try and update after we cruise across the Atlantic into the Med. That's going to be alot of fun.

I miss everyone and I hope it's getting warmer back home. I'll be enjoying a 6 month summer from now on.

Cheers,

Neil

Advertisement



12th April 2006

nice
hey so good to hear things are going better now... and thanks for the 411. im going to cuba on friday and guess what i am bringing... mini chocolate bars.. :) keep the blogs coming, love reading them. hopefully we'll see ya in thailand.. i'm going to book a week at a muai thai training camp if you want in let me know! its cheap and sounds amazing. bighug, lo.
12th April 2006

6 month summer...
Hey Neil! Just thought I'd drop in to say hi... and tell you, like many, I am jealous of what you doing. I've never even been on a PLANE.. lol well maybe I shouldnt advertise that little fact haha. 6 months of summer.. why dont you send some of the nice weather to TO okay? cuz I am dying to enjoy the hot weather. Never really been on a ship either.. unless you count the ferry to centre island haha. so that I am jealous.. anyway Hope your trip is going great. and hopefully you making lotsa $$$ on the bar.. better than milestones? hehe Take Care!
13th April 2006

Sounds like you are having a hell of a time. You know that when I meet up with you in Europe sometime soon that I am going to have to test all of the drinks you have learned how to make...and then I will be stinking drunk and it will be awesome! Haha, stay safe and don't let too many ladies see the 'internal halls and rooms' of the ship.
16th April 2006

Inspired
What's up reilly! Wow I'm so excited for you, I've been reading your journal entries and I wish I was there w/ you!! I must admit that reading your entries are educational for me. I was completely ignorant about budapest, but wow!! That's all I can say Wow! Your pics are awesome! I can't wait to read the next one!! Have a safe journey! It's a shame that I won't see you on my bday but considering the circumstances, I'd miss my birthday too!!:) Love ya lots xo

Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb