Fat Daddys Road Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
March 17th 2010
Published: March 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

MY ROAD TRIP MAP


FAT DADDY’S BIG ROAD TRIP
On April 23 2010 I leave on my trike with my camper for my big road trip across this great country of ours. The trip will take 61 days, take me trough 26 states and cover over 9000 miles.

The trip will be in three parts.
The first part will be 27 days and over 4600 miles. Starting out from Louisiana into Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, Wyoming, Nebraska, South Dakota, Montana, back across Wyoming into Idaho, Oregon, Northern California, Nevada and back into Southern California to start the second part of the trip. The first part of the trip will be by myself, camping in campgrounds, State and National Parks.

The second part of the trip is the purpose of the whole trip. I will join up with the group that makes the “RUN FOR THE WALL” to the Vietnam Veterans Memorial: THE WALL in Washington D.C. every year. This will be the 22nd year of the run. There are two routes of the run, the central and the southern. I will be making the southern run. If I make the run next year I will make the central run. The run starts in Rancho Cucamonga California. It is a 12 day event, taking 10 days for the run to Arlington Virginia. This is over a 2500 mile ride starting in California into Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee, Virginia and Washington D.C. In Washington there will be a “ROLLING THUNDER PARADE” last year there were over 500000 motorcycles that participated in this parade. This must really be a site to see. This part of the trip I will camp and use motels due to the early morning starts of the run.

The third part of the trip will be around 22 days and over 1800 miles taking me from Virginia to Pennsylvania and New York. Then I will spend about a week in Ohio with my two wonderful daughters and all of the little heathens. While there I will go to bike week in Sandusky. Then it will be on to Indiana, Illinois and Missouri where I will spend a week in Branson for The Brothers Of The Third Wheel Trike Week. From there it is on to Arkansas and then back home to Monroe.
This will be a total of over sixty days and 9000 miles.

I will try and post pictures of the trip every day.


Advertisement



17th March 2010

Sounds like it is going to be exciting Dad. Can't wait to see the pictures.
19th March 2010

Let the countdown begin
Sounds like an amazing trip! Have you worked out which campgrounds and RV parks you will be staying in along the way? Happy to help provide some recommendations of great places to go. Have fun :-)
13th April 2010

You're going to have a blast and I'm JEALOUS!

Tot: 1.343s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb