So, Have you found what your looking for??


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
May 26th 2009
Published: May 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So this will probably be the hardest blog I will have to write. trying to sum everything up.

It was an adventure from beginning to the very end.
being stuck at the Newark airport, getting to see New York and Strawberry Fields. Having to figure out the subway and thanks to my brother Chet who was talking to me on the phone and navigating me through this subway hell hole...LOL... (to say the least) hopping back on the train into New Jersey to catch my plane and head on into Dublin. Going on 3 days wearing the same clothes but met the best guys ever, Brent and John. If it hadn't been for them, I would not have had a chance to do or see half the things in Ireland. I mean who would have been able to sing karoke with a 72 year old one legged irish man, or had a near death experiance on a country irish road???? now that is adventure!!!! hahaha...The big joke throughout the whole trip was, "So have you found what you are looking for?" We had a big conversation one night about why i was doing this trip and they thought it was pretty cool so they asked me this again while they were driving me to the airport. And I told them that it wasn't so much WHAT I was looking for but that I was able to put certain things behind me, and walk away with my head up, and be proud of where I am at in my life. Its all about new beginnings.

This trip has had many coincidences to me. Meeting these people who are raising money for cancer, feeling like there was always someone watching over me, I never felt alone, I never felt scared, Kneeling in the church and having a moment of silence and prayer I thanked Mr. Dan for being my angel on this trip. I truely felt his presence and I felt like he was with me this whole time. He would want me to be protected and taken care of and i feel like I had these angels watching over me.

I hated that I was a day and a half late getting into Dublin because I didn't get to do half the things I wanted to do. I didn't get to do anything U2 that i wanted to...however I did see the Clarence Hotel that they own because it was around the corner from me. so I guess that means i will definitely have a return trip.

Galway was probably my favorite town. It has so much character not sooo touristy and not as rowdy as dublin.

So I guess some Highlights on my trip would be (in no order) because my head is too scattered:
-Getting to see Strawberry Fields and walk thru Central Park
-Ground Zero
-Meeting up with Batman and Robin
-Having my first Guiness in a real Irish Pub
-taking off in a car driving thru Ireland
-castles, castles, castles
-hiking up the cliffs of moher
-laughing till I cried
-Guiness Brewery
-stealing a pint glass from the brewery that i drank out of
-Trinity college-Book of Kells
-visiting Ted, the Old Irish Wise man that made me sing karaoke
-Walking down the Liffey and the Galway river
-Galway shops and the town is really amazing
-My first REAL shephards Pie
-having the rental car break down
-Batman telling McDonalds how to scramble eggs...LOL
-Batman losing one glove so his nickname was Michael for a while
-Batman finding his glove
-Great music all around
-Sherkin Island
-The Norris Family-truly are wonderful people
-Cape Clear
-the hike all around Cape Clear
-A moment of reflection in a church on Cape Clear
-Bus rides and bus stations
-socks with flip flops
-wearing the same clothes for 3 days
-the first shower and change of clothes after 3 days!!!
-Mick Flannery Concert
-taking a picture in front of Eircom post (their telecommunications company) with my EATEL hat on


I must say it was bittersweet to leave Ireland. I was and wasn't ready to come home. I was ready to come back home and see Lennon cause that was all I could think about when I was gone, but there were so many things that I still wanted to do. The country is absolutely beautiful and these towns have so much character. The people are great, the food is great, the music is great and the scenery is absolutely breathtaking! I think I have found my retirement place 😊 I can't wait to go back and experience it all over again. I know now what to expect and I have things that I will for sure see next time I go. Staying in a Hostel was a new thing for me. It felt like i was back in college living in a dorm. but i did my research and I knew that the area I chose was noisy, busy, etc . so expect to not get a lot of sleep or bring ear plugs...not to mention that your sharing a room with others so they may come in at all hours of the night or wake up really early. needless to say I was the roommate coming in really late at night and then the one leaving bright and early in the morning when i needed to. The hostels were very safe and secure, you had to be buzzed in and show your room key and they cleaned that place every day. mopping all the floors, etc. so i felt very safe, clean and all that. Now i am glad i experienced the hostel traveling, however, I now know of some hotels in the area that are very affordable that I will probably stay at next time.

I hoped you enjoyed my blog while i was away, I tried to put as much as i could.
the guys have named me honorary sidekick (half pint) and invited me to Spain next year to do running of the bulls! so we shall see, maybe another adventure in my future 😊

Please visit their website as they raise money for teamilive-they will be posting pics of their trip on there
www.teamilive.org
also mathew mcconaghey is one of their sponsors here is his website as well
www.jklivin.com

P.S.
I am posting pics on some of the blogs so check them out

Advertisement



28th May 2009

Soooo....
I guess sometimes its not what we are looking for, but what we are finding that makes the difference..Think I will get a second job so I can go with you next time!! :-)
29th May 2009

Everybody is invited
I welcome anybody to come along with me next time!!!!! you wont regret it!!! Bring your purple and gold!
2nd June 2009

I'll go with you Amy
When you go back let me know I would love to go to Ireland. Always wanted to go there. Come by and bring Lennon so you can tell us about your trip. Love ya, Uncle Craig

Tot: 0.352s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb