Two Weeks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
April 21st 2009
Published: April 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I thought I would start some pre-travel writing about my big adventure coming up. As with any decision I make the choice of a blog provider provided me a great deal of vexation. Sooooo I narrowed it to two and will very likely use Jimmy and my mom as guinea pigs for a final decision.

Six weeks of travel is two weeks away for me. SIX WEEKS! Yikes.

I'm sitting here looking at a this 9X21X14 Rick Steves branded black bag that, still in it's crinkly shiny new-luggage plastic sheath, is already proving my nemesis. Rick Steves claims one should be able to live for 6 days or 6 months with the same, very short, list of items - he smugly carries everything he needs in what looks like a large purse. To me his assertion,seems all to similar to my vet telling me I should be able to brush my cats teeth. While in theory packing and living 6 months out of a teeny tiny bag might be possible I live in a reality where I have trouble making checked baggage weight limits. The realization those trips have recently been international business class check-ins, which have a very gracious luggage weight limit, is sinking in.

Fact is I have a perfectly wonderful hard shell monster of a suitcase I purchased in Japan several years ago. It's sleek, sliver and dimpled. It cries out to accompany me and lures me by flashing a handle here, 4 independent casters there, opening its cavernous maw lined with fabulous fabric - inviting me to load it with 70lbs of necessities. Alas as seductive as that is common sense tells me that unless it also has somehow developed the power to levitate it would be a liability traveling through 7 countries. Not to mention the Rick Steves tour portion of my trip limits me to a single piece of luggage precisely the size of the bag still basting in plastic hydrocarbon vapors.
Coincidence? I think not. I'm realizing I'm stuck with this scratchy, low-tech rucksack at least for the tour.
First stop - a sewing shop for a seam ripper to get Ricks embroidered name off this snail shell I'll need to learn to call "luggage"

Advertisement



22nd April 2009

mother
Just practicing I guess?

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb