Chapter 12


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
March 19th 2009
Published: March 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Caprock Canyon with sculptureCaprock Canyon with sculptureCaprock Canyon with sculpture

One of the scenes at Caprock Canyon State Park in West Texas.
CHAPTER 12

March 11: After a weeks hiatus, I am on the road again, heading to Arizona. I left Dallas and drove north to Wichita Falls. After passing through that city, I proceeded to Quanah. This little town doesn’t have much to offer a tourist but history. It is named after Quanah Parker, a half-breed Indian who was the last and most famous Comanche Chief. His mother was Cynthia Ann Parker. She was captured as a child by some Comanches on a raid. She lived with the tribe for 25 years, married one of tribesmen and had three sons and a daughter. In 1860, she was “rescued” and returned, unwillingly with her baby daughter, to the whites. She never saw her sons again. Never able to adjust to the white world, she was a virtual recluse and died at age 43. Legends and stories abound about this woman, but all are conjecture. She never talked about her years with the Comanche.

March 12: I stayed the night at Caprock Canyon State Park--another one of the great Texas State Parks. The actual camping area had no scenery, but just a block’s walk revealed some awesome canyons. This area was known
Caprock buffalo sculptures and bonesCaprock buffalo sculptures and bonesCaprock buffalo sculptures and bones

One of the viewing areas in Caprock Canyon. At the bottom right of the sculpture are buffalo bones found in the canyon.
for it’s huge herds of buffalo and many buffalo bones have been found in the canyons. While there are some live buffalo in the park, they are kept in ranges away from the visitors. We were treated, instead, to some great metal sculptures.

Driving in this area is amazing. One is traveling along flat, flat land, then all of a sudden the ground seems to drop away and the road winds through miles of small canyons. Then, the road climbs a bit and the car is back on flat land again. It is surely a land of surprises.


March 13: I woke up to heavy fog this morning. I sure am glad I walked and got pictures yesterday shortly after arriving at the park--visibility was rotten today. It was also cold and damp. Around noon I passed what looked like an old drive-in movie theater. (For you youngsters who don’t know what that is, ask your parents to tell you their stories about drive-ins) Anyway, I stopped and took a picture, because it said it was midway between two towns in the county and midway across the country. I think the sign said midway from NY to
Another view at Caprock CanyonAnother view at Caprock CanyonAnother view at Caprock Canyon

I suppose Grand Canyon will spoil me later, but for now I am enchanted with the scenes at this state park.
Los Angeles. I figured it was a milestone for me!

Later on, I opted to get off the back roads and on to the interstate. Sure glad I did, because it started snowing! I couldn’t believe the big flakes pouring down. In no time at all the ground was covered. It was snowing so heavily, it was almost like a blizzard! All traffic slowed down and I followed the trucks. I figured it was probably safer to keep moving, since I had no idea how long the storm would last or how deep the snow might get. There was enough traffic to keep the interstate fairly clear. I was certainly glad to get to Tucumcari, NM and the RV park!

Cali--I don’t know what that white stuff is, but it is fun watching it come down! One of my favorite places to ride now, is upstairs by the front window. Sometimes I like looking out that window and watching things whiz by. All I could see today was the white stuff! I left some nose prints on the front windshield as a souvenier for Mommy




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MidwayMidway
Midway

The sign reads midway between Turkey and Quitaque (in Texas) and NY and LA. I'm halfway across the country in my travels!
Blizzard!Blizzard!
Blizzard!

I took this picture through the windshield of the RV on the way to Tucumcari, NM
Just to prove it.Just to prove it.
Just to prove it.

Ok, I wasn't hallucinating. Here is the RV with some of the snow still on it.


19th March 2009

Bone chilling!
Get out of there quick as you can. Come to sunny Arizona and join the ranks of some of the most annoying snow-birds in the country. Perhaps you could counsel them about staying off the roads!!! All are welcome.
21st March 2009

I love reading about your travels and seeing your pictures. You are doing something that I always thought would be so much fun! While you are in Arizona, if you get near Quartzsite, my oldest daughter and husband are there. They plan on being there til the end of April, however, it was 90 there yesterday and in the 80's about 10AM this morning so they may leave early. If you end up near there, let me know and I'll give you the phone number Am looking forward to your finding Garden Grove.
25th March 2009

How amazing
That is such a sad story about that woman. But it sounds like you filled up on some good history and scenery!
7th April 2009

Great story there
That's interesting about Cynthia Ann Parker. I've heard/read a lot of stories how white women would be captured by Native American tribes...then years later rescued and the women really didn't want to be rescued as they preferred living with the natives. Snowing? There's been wacky weather all around lately...LOL

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb