San Berdoo 2008: Til the Wheels Come Off


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
August 12th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Highway to Hell


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The Kid Is Not My Son 105 secs
Empty HouseEmpty HouseEmpty House

Shot from outside the front door, after all our stuff has been removed. Looks a lot smaller.
Day One: Out of Bloomington Like a Shot

Moving day begins like any other: I'm fast asleep when Jessica kicks open the door of our bedroom and starts banging a riding crop around the inside of a bedpan. "Drop your cocks and grab your socks! It's time to get a goddamn move on!" When I try to roll over and go back to sleep, she puts her cigarette out on the back of my hand.

The moving van arrives on time and I'm happy to discover that we've hired a detachment of Hell's Angels. All four of the movers have elaborate tattoos, glittering earrings, and a taste for human flesh. Jake, the ringleader, is picking at the scab of a recent tattoo. It depicts two massive eagle wings with Thor-like hammers instead of bones. "Nice tat," I say, subtly flexing my biceps. He shrugs. "Are you one of the guys going all the way to California," I ask. I'm desperately trying to distract him from the fact that I'm wearing sandals. Wearing sandals on moving day, it seems to me, is a pretty good reason to kick my ass. "Yup," he says, "I'm going. Nobody likes to be away
Jessica Won't Leave Her RoomJessica Won't Leave Her RoomJessica Won't Leave Her Room

The upper right window. I had to tranquilize her.
from home as much as me." Indeed. Later on, while I'm sipping a mint julep and painting my nails, I watch as Jake, by himself, lifts an entire wardrobe box, hefts it onto his back, and carries it down the stairs. Let me be clear: these boxes are about 5 feet tall and three feet square. They've been crammed to bursting with all of our shoes and clothes and Jessica's collection of radium-dial clocks. I'm guessing they weigh about 300 pounds a piece. Anyhoo, I was impressed.

After about two hours, the house is empty and echoing. Jessica and I are left with nothing but an old mop and a growing sense of sadness and displacement. A feeling, incidentally, not unlike many of my high school proms. At one point, Jessica barricades herself in what used to be her upstairs office. When I knock on the door and ask her what's wrong, she just mutters, "A boy's best friend is his mother." I'm concerned, but three hours later she comes out.

Emotionally and physically exhausted, we hop in the car and drive to IU's main library. I mean, where else would we go? I still have a few
Percy FlatlinesPercy FlatlinesPercy Flatlines

I had to tranquilize Percy as well. Everybody got a dart except me.
library books to drop off, including Wild Mushrooms of the Transvaal and Psoriasis: Learning to Live, and Love, with It. While Jessica is depositing a check in the Credit Union ATM, I take Percy for a walk in the arboretum. I decide to let her off her leash so she can run around in the grass and stretch her legs before the long ride to St. Louis. When I do, she immediately attacks an old Pakistani man riding a bicycle. I run over and apologize but he begins cursing me in Urdu. I think it may be time to go.

So we hop in the car and hit the road. Nothing much to report. We rock out, as the opening video should make clear. We try to get our heads around leaving our life behind. We fail to do so. We arrive in St. Louis and take shelter at Jessica's folks' place. We'll catch our breaths here and then head west.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The Cigarette Lighter WorksThe Cigarette Lighter Works
The Cigarette Lighter Works

Do not drop in lap.
FearlessFearless
Fearless

Incidentally, neither of us were wearing pants when this shot was taken.
Indiana No MoreIndiana No More
Indiana No More

The crap on the window is on the inside. Jessica sneezed while eating a bowl of sour cream.
I call this "God's Semi"I call this "God's Semi"
I call this "God's Semi"

Because it's like God is shooting a semi out of the cross and it's filled with 50-gallon barrels of redemption.
War of the WorldsWar of the Worlds
War of the Worlds

St. Louis has fallen. Hide in your basements.


13th August 2008

Bitch tits.
I like how the ad at the end of your blog there is an ad for bitch tits reduction, coincidence, I think not.
13th August 2008

Umm...
What the hell?
13th August 2008

This should be a TV show
Chad and Jessica: I am glad to see that you are on the move and one step ahead of Johnny Law. Chad's Aunt Percy seems a little worse for wear, but I'm sure she'll perk up once the thorazine wears off. Have you found a facility for her in San Berdoo yet? I have a number of brochures that may be helpful in this regard. The bad news, of course, is that I couldn't help but notice that you are not driving in a regulation Hertz-Penske vehicle, which might cause trouble at the fruit and vegetable search stations across the nation. Good luck. Don't be afraid to use my name with the mounties. And godspeed.
14th August 2008

Family Matters
I went ahead and forwarded your blog address to Grandma, I thought she'd really enjoy keeping up on your trip as well. Your welcome.
17th August 2008

I thought it WAS Chad's Grandma writing the blog...

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb