"be the change you wish to see in the world" -Mohandas Gandhi


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
June 18th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I begin this journey by giving thanks; I truly have a wonderful and blessed life.



Inspirations:
my support system
The Alchemist
fear
courage
imagination
eastern philosophy
and curiosity




Many of you know that I've been planning and saving for this experience for quite some time. At first I planned and prepared as a chance for me to give my skills and abilities to those who were in need of it. It then grew into an opportunity to see a different part of the world and immerse myself in a new culture. Slowly, over time I have begun to realize that this isn't solely a "trip" or a volunteering experience, this is the path that my life is flowing towards.

It's hard to grow up in our society and not feel that omni-present pressure to graduate college, pick a city, get an apartment, a career, a mate, settle down, have kids, go to soccer games, become a grandparent, retire and travel. This, fortunately, is never how I envisioned my life going and luckily hasn't gone thus far. However, on several occasions I have pressured myself to try and fit the mold always resulting with a mind/heart struggle and a general sense of unhappiness. Enter: wu-wei.

"Wu-wei implies action that is spontaneous, natural, and effortless. As with the Tao, this behavior simply flows through us because it is the right action, appropriate to its time and place, and serving the purpose of greater harmony and balance. Chuang Tzu refers to this type of being in the world as flowing, or more poetically (and provocatively), as "purposeless wandering!"
To allow oneself to "wander without purpose" can be frightening because it challenges some of our most basic assumptions about life, about who we are as humans, and about our role in the world. From a Taoist point of view it is our cherished beliefs - that we exist as separate beings, that we can exercise willful control over all situations, and that our role is to conquer our environment - that lead to a state of disharmony and imbalance. Yet, "the Tao nourishes everything," Lao Tzu writes. If we can learn to follow the Tao, practicing non-action," then nothing remains undone. This means trusting our own bodies, our thoughts and emotions, and also believing that the environment will provide support and guidance. Thus the need to develop watchfulness and quietness of mind. "
-Kardash

We have never been guaranteed a future; things change year-to-year, day-to-day, minute-to-minute. Although I believe in preparation I want to live as much for the present as is possible. I hope you all will follow me through this journey and offer any support and advice you may have for me. Everyday I learn something new, everyday I continue to grow. I wish the same for all of you.
much love,
Trish

The universe will take care of all of us if we just allow it.



Advertisement



29th August 2008

I'm @ Dad's huge house!!
Holy Camoly this house is big...I already picked out my roon here...haha j/k. So I thought I would let you know that we are going to have a family reunion next year at Dad's new house. we are not sure of the date but it might be a week long event. I am the head coordinator of course. So if you have any ideas send them to me. I will be sending out a world wide email to the fam. Dad came up with the idea of making t-shirts and having a big cookout and then going in to Boston to Quincy market and where ever else. Tell me what you think. Love Ya!! Be safe and use the pepper spray if you find it necessary not if you are imagining things on your long hikes, you didn't drink enough water and you end up harming an innocent animal. LOL! And wear your glasses! Love ya!! xoxoxoxo
29th August 2008

Trish follow your heart it will tell you what to do with your life....enjoy and have fun burns family
29th August 2008

Trish, you're such an inspiration. I admire that you have the courage to break the mold of expectations that society bombards us with. Buena suerte, mi amiga. Go be a little sponge and absorb all that the world has to offer. Love you like crazy.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb