Entry #1


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
December 30th 2007
Published: December 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I thought I would go ahead and get started before I actually leave so I can get into the groove of this. I leave for Australia in exactly one month and 4 days. The way things have been going lately, that's going to go by extremely fast. I'm so excited, but at the same time, I feel like part of me isn't ready. This whole studying abroad thing started out as a bit of a whim. I decided one day that I needed a change in a big way, and I had always planned on studying abroad for a summer through my school...which meant going abroad for 6 weeks or so. But, I changed my mind one day and decided to go for a whole semester abroad...in Australia. I always said I wanted to go to Africa more than anything, but something is telling me to go to Australia. I keep imagining myself walking through downtown Melbourne during those festivals that seem to happen year round, taking a ferry to Tasmania (though I hear it's pretty rough seas), and going back into the dorms, which I haven't done in a couple years. I'm so afraid I won't be able to experience all of the things I hope to experience. I told my dad that I wasn't going to say 'no' to many things while abroad, that I wanted to experience any possible thing...even if it involves heights. ugh. I'm wondering how different the classroom environment is compared to here in the states. I definitely don't want to come across as an obnoxious American. I've heard very positive things about Australians. I've heard they are warm people, very friendly and very outgoing, and I'm really looking forward to meeting people like that. This is an experience I never thought I would have. Like I said, something is telling me to go here, so I can't wait to find out why. I'm going to use this blog as a medium to keep my family and friends updated on all of my comings and goings, so I hope I can keep it up to everyone's satisfaction. I can't wait to share all of my experiences with everyone 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0795s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb