In the Beginning


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I think it is always good to begin at the beginning. Michael and I have been married since 1976. We have 8 wonderful children: Wade Emily Lydia Anna Nathan Naomi Miles Silas. See if you can figure out how their names all fit together!

We wanted to record our family adventures. It seems that wherever we go we have a lot of fun and several stories to tell. I am hoping that this will be a way to record and share those good times.

The very first time Michael and I went camping we had a brand new tent, cooler and propane stove and only three children. It took us most of the day to set up camp. But we roasted hot dogs and marshmallows before retiring to the tent. Everyone fell asleep pretty quickly except, of course, me. I finally did drift off and some time not long after a woman started SCREAMING right outside our tent. Then she drifted into a hoot and I realized that it was a hoot owl. My, but that really did/does sound like someone screaming!! Then before long there was a gnawing sound and I love listening to night bugs especially when they are out there and I am in here but not at 90 decibels! Needless to say that did my sleeping for the night. Next morning the little potty chair that was our first pack-a-potty had teeth marks where something tried to sample plastic. Fortunately it was not to tasty and they departed for parts unknown.

That beginning camping trip was so much fun we haven't stopped yet!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb