Almost Back To Ocean Shores


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
November 11th 2023
Published: November 12th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Tombstone Tombstone Tombstone

Not just gun deaths, the world’s largest rose tree.
Crazy to think that we have been driving for almost 7 weeks! The plan, such as it is, is to be back in Ocean Shores by the 24th. Avoiding all retail as that is Black Friday. This gives us two days before real life kicks back in. Of course I am armed with determination and all sorts of resolutions. I have already applied to a local college (no changing my mind on that). I have spent weeks of smiling at everyone I meet and being interested and engaged with complete strangers. I need to start learning from the people I see on a regular basis (or not, dear Seattle/Brier/Tacoma friends) and not taking them for granted. I will say that I am surprised by the number of friends and acquaintances I have thought about and missed. So another resolution, which I make every year, is to stay in touch and actually make an effort to see my friends. No excuse that Brier is too far, now that we have driven to Flagler beach (twice!!!). It is Veterans Day, I hope for peace soon. Tomorrow is Diwali, festival of lights and a new year. You already know a couple of my resolutions.
TombstoneTombstoneTombstone

Everything a road weary, yet fun-loving tourist could want.
The other ones are to eat better, exercise more, yada yada yada! I do love you all (well, with very few exceptions). Peace.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The lovely FatimaThe lovely Fatima
The lovely Fatima

Not the Marian apparition Fatima.
Tombstone MotelTombstone Motel
Tombstone Motel

I would recommend.
Arizona Arizona
Arizona

Not leaving the van tonight.
Deming, NMDeming, NM
Deming, NM

Just popped in to the town to get coffee. A beautiful surprise. This is just one of several murals and a small, fountained town square.
RoswellRoswell
Roswell

Had to be visited.
RoswellRoswell
Roswell

Not an advertising angle to be missed.
RoswellRoswell
Roswell

John makes friends everywhere he goes.
Toby JugToby Jug
Toby Jug

Yes, another one.
Alamogordo NMAlamogordo NM
Alamogordo NM

Pistachios galore.
New MexicoNew Mexico
New Mexico

I was enchanted.
Town StatueTown Statue
Town Statue

This was the first of now dozens of Roadrunner statues we have seen.
Fort Stockton, TexasFort Stockton, Texas
Fort Stockton, Texas

Found a great place for lunch.
Alamogordo, NMAlamogordo, NM
Alamogordo, NM

This offsets the Tombstone Fatima.
RoswellRoswell
Roswell

The only mural without an alien.
WelcomeWelcome
Welcome

OTT touristy, but in a very good way.
Rose Tree Museum RoomRose Tree Museum Room
Rose Tree Museum Room

I had to take a photo, my grandmother loved flocked wallpaper. (The only not perfect thing about her.)
Bisbee, NMBisbee, NM
Bisbee, NM

9 out of 10 on my very random rating method.


12th November 2023

Insightful
Cynthia, what a thoughtful, insightful, post. Enjoy your last leg!

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb