Happy Birthday !


Advertisement
Published: October 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


As soon as I became a little conscious in the morning I felt the warmth of Oscar next to me and the covers were over my head. It was a cold night! The temp was 39 outside but a warm 52 inside, the gas heater had kicked on during the night to save us from freezing. Remember there is no electric at this campground so no electric heater, not even the computer works now, the battery is so low.
After coffee and a walk we headed out for the geyser region and Old Faithful. It was an early start for us 8:40am. Remember when I said don’t visit the geysers on a cold day, all you see is steam. Well that is still true. The day was cloudy, cool and finally started raining.
I stopped at Fountain Paint Pot but all you could see was steam. A few of the pools had some color but not much. I did stop to snap a shot of a bison that was in a picnic area, just couldn’t resist.
When we arrived at Old Faithful it was just going off so I missed it. The next eruption was 1:40pm so I went shopping and took pictures of Old Faithful Lodge. It is quite a building, built over 100 years ago all out of wood. Then I waited outside in the drizzle rain to see the event. Without the contrast of the blue sky it was hard to tell where sky ended and hot water began. Pictures ..
Then I decided a shopping trip to West Yellowstone was in order so off we went. I had cell coverage at that point so I talked to many birthday well wishers.
Off in town I bought 2 nice shirts and then finally got the pizza I had been craving for days, and added a few beers too.
Back at the campsite it was overcast but not raining so I asked Kathy, the woman I met yesterday to come over for a campfire. The fire was the first of my expedition but surely not the last. We talked and roasted marshmallows til we were tired and called it a night. It started raining again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

going downgoing down
going down

lasts about 5 min goes off every 90 min or so


Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 102; dbt: 0.2104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb