Cody and beyond


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Wapiti
September 9th 2011
Published: September 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I had to look back at the pictures to remember what happened today, it was so full.
After going to bed early you’d think I’d be up early, but no I slept 10 hours. I must have been really tired.
So of course coffee time with this gorgeous view, them a walk to get the blood flowing and keep Oscar happy in the camper and we were off by 10am. Oh, I did get up some time early morning because the moon had set so I could see the stars, they knocked my socks off. So bright and billions of them.
The first thing we came to after driving 10 min was the dam that made the lake. It dams up the Wind River and then we went through the canyon. Pictures---
Then I spotted a few people up ahead looking at something and there was a pull off so I investigated. There were 4 mountain sheep (I think, must investigate) posing for us. Pictures.
Finally making it to Thermopolis I went to see what the hot springs were all about. It was too commercial but I did find a small spring called White Sulfur Spring. Picture The name says it all along with the smell.
There were weird formations, picture, that I have to find out more about.
On into Cody which turned out to be somewhat of a culture shock. There were people everywhere! Got a WY sticker for Pennelope and a T shirt I couldn’t do without, had ice cream and left town.
Oh, not without taking a picture of a jackalope for all of you non believers.
Another stop 5 miles down the road had me in Old Trail Town. They took old cabins and buildings and reassembled them in this “town”. I could hear spurs on the boardwalks. A real portrait of Butch Cassidy and Sundance was there, picture, and their hole in the wall gang hideout, picture. Let’s not forget the saloon. Picture. There was an Indian dress of beautiful white doe skin all beaded on top, just remarkable work. Picture.
So I have included lots of pictures this blog, I’ll let them tell it.
I am settled in for 2 nights at the Yellowstone Valley Inn and RV park. They have wifi so I will have internet til Sunday morning when I leave for Yellowstone. Can’t imagine they have internet there. I had a wonderful hot, lots of water shower tonight and I feel like a million bucks. It’s the simple pleasures in life.
Tomorrow I am going to wash clothes, organize or reorganize the camper and see what happens.
Drove 133 miles today on rt 20 N and then 120 N into Cody. Now I am in Wapiti on rt 20 west


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



10th September 2011
view for my dinner

All you need are a pair of boots and a gun
Kathy, Your pictures are beautiful - that town looks like it is right out of the movies! And your little partner is too cute - hope he isn't chasing rattle snakes. Are you in Wyoming in those pictures? Keep the blog going and pictuers coming . It's fun to see your travels. Nell
10th September 2011

Ahhh, brings back memories. We went through Cody on the way home from Oregon or maybe on the way to Micah's birth, can't remember exactly when. But anyway, beautiful country. Always blows me away to be at 7 or 8000 ft. and have relatively flat lane that goes as far as the eye can see.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb