Finally in Wyoming


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Thermopolis
September 8th 2011
Published: September 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I slept in this morning til 7:30 as I feel in no rush to head out today. I don’t have far to go til my next stop so I am going to take Oscar on a walk along the Platte River. There is a paved trail and quite pleasant I am told. Of course, coffee first then I left to get a bucket of warm water from the washroom for dishes and the little opportunist Oscar, got the last of my coffee from the picnic table. He still got his walk which was really pleasant. Picture.
Talked to more people and finally headed out about 11am. I took 26 west heading toward Ft Laramie. At 11:30 I crossed the border into Wyoming and the sign said “Wyoming, forever west”. How true that is. There is a different breed of people who live here, they survive from the land and are a part of it.
I found a gem shop and got some new stones to make jewelry. Then I spotted Laramie Peak in the haze 10,272 ft. Must have scared the pioneers to death thinking they had to cross that. But they went around and so did I.
I picked up
Sums it upSums it upSums it up

along the river path
Rt 25 which is a 4 lane 75mph road and passed Douglas. On the top of a hill outside of town was a HUGE what I thought was an elk metal cutout. But wait---this is Doooouglas so it must be a jackalope.That’s for you Dave and Deb.
We stopped for lunch at a road side rest and a little hike too. At Evansville I picked up 26 west again and headed to Shoshoni. It was a 65mph 2 lane road that went through seemingly flat land but we kept climbing. I eventually reached 4500 ft and there was sage brush and very dry grass but still cattle eating away. Then I saw them, the antelope. The road was too narrow to safely pull over for a picture so they are etched in my mind. (scary thought). I was getting tired and decided to stay in Shoshoni at a state park for the night. You fill out an envelope and go pick your spot. Well did I pick one! Picture. I am right on a huge lake at the foot of the Owl Creek Mts. It is Boysen Reservoir.What struck me is how quiet it is here. I don’t remember ever
The cottonwoodsThe cottonwoodsThe cottonwoods

That is Scotts Bluff in the background
experiencing this kind of quiet before. Oh and as I drove in there were 3 mule deer grazing along the road and I could stop and did get a picture.
I ate leftovers from last night, just as good, and will go to bed early as there is no electric here so I can’t run the computer too long. It gets dark about 8pm so I didn't want to stumble around in the dark.
The miles driven today were 281 and that puts me over the 2000 mile mark. About 150 tomorrow, then I stay put for 2 nights in a row!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

beauty
Great campsiteGreat campsite
Great campsite

I almost had the place to myself


10th September 2011

great blog
great blog, great pictures!!! Looks like you are having a great time! I\'m envious! Keep the \'words\' and \'pics\' coming!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb