How Did This Decision Come to Pass?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Jackson Hole
August 15th 2009
Published: August 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

How did I get here?

So how did I come to decide to take a year off to travel and not live the conventional way I have been doing? How does anyone? I'm sure I will find a lot of answers to the second question as time goes on. As to the first question, it was an easier decision than you might think. As with a lot of significant changes, this one was born out of crisis. I lost my job of 8 years. It was no ordinary job. It was one that I took great pride in, that I gave my all to and that I loved. The suddenness of the loss was quite staggering. I am fairly well programmed to being employed. I have had a job ever since the summer after 7th grade when I got my first paper route. So naturally I started an intense job search, signed on with a headhunter, called everyone I knew for leads, the works. Looking for a job in the present economy is daunting but it wasn't long before I was offered a very good position similar to the one I lost at a better salary in the city of Chicago, a place where many folks I know would love to live. Melisse and I were all set to take the position and move. But then a funny thing happened. We changed our minds. We took stock and realized that living in Chicago was not our dream. It might be others' but not ours. We made this realization as we were standing down by the lake, gazing at the city in all its magnificence. Not OUR dream. So we thanked the school that made the offer and returned to our home in St. Louis with the intent to stay there. Then, another funny thing happened. Finding another position in a place we love had lost its appeal as well. I was just going through the motions of searching at that point. I would have interviews and pretend enthusiasm for positions I should want. Yikes.
Then, a magic moment happened. Melisse looked at me and asked, "Why don't we just go travel?" That was it. It was just that simple. We had planned to travel for a year back when we returned to St. Louis from living in California years ago. We postponed that decision when her father was dying. We moved back to be with him and that is when I landed the great job I have now lost. So really, the decision to take a year off to travel was made years ago. We just got side tracked. In essence, the universe is now handing us the opportunity to hit the reset button. And so we are. There comes a point when you just cannot postpone dreams any longer. Seeing friends get gravely ill or die reminds me that there are no guarantees of time to do the things we dream about. We are taking seriously that old adage that no one ever wishes on their deathbed that they had spent more time at work. Instead, we are living the dream.


Advertisement



18th August 2009

Good for you!
Dear Melisse and Dave, Good for you. I am sure many people envy you. It is great reading about your adventures and I know you will be very happy with your decision, Love, Charles

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb