I Can Still Make Cheyenne


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming » Cheyenne
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, today really wasn't super interesting...we woke up and went to this mining place, the name escapes me, went on a little tour through an unactive and what used to be relatively unproductive mine then let Matthew and Rebecca pan for gold before heading to Wyoming. We booked our hotel room for two nights but I'm not really sure what we're going to do for the two days we're staying here, because all we have planned so far is to go to some cowboy museum. I guess we're just winging it. Tonight Matthew, Rebecca and I watched the premier of Camp Rock and aside from the bad acting it wasn't too shabby! I know, I still watch...and enjoy...Disney movies. Oh well, yay me! Ha, well since I don't have much to say about today I'll reminisce about the first days of our trip (: well we went to the Oz Museum in Wamego, Kansas by my special request as it was pretty interesting, I found a lot about the movie and books I didn't know and got a picture with a HUGE replica of the tin man! That town is crazy, most of the stores have something about Oz incorporated into there titles and they even have a Toto's Tacoz which we decided must have tacos made with dog meat. The first day of the trip we had breakfast in Texas, lunch in Kansas, and dinner in South Dakota, and so far we've hit three different state capitals! Yeah, dang. A few hours ago my mom and I were waiting in line for the washing machine in the laundry room and a guy tried to cut in front of us and since then my mom has convinced herself that she nearly got in a showdown with the man (not even close). I'm rambling so bad, but I forgot to talk about our actual visit to Mount Rushmore. We got there and Rebecca decided that she wanted to go "hiking" so we started ascending what turned out to be a million steps to get to a closer viewpoint of the mountain. By the last step I was carrying my mom's purse and the camcorder. Later when Matthew, Rebecca and Mom went to the gift shop, Dad and I snuck off to the ice cream shop and while we were sitting and eating it, this chipmunk started running back and forth right behind me and several times I thought he was going to jump on me! There were chipmunks everywhere there. We stayed and watched the little presentation they have at night, which basically highlights the merits of Washington, Jeferson, Roosevelt and Lincoln. I also wore the hood up on my jacket almost the entire time we were there just because it made me feel hardcore. Yeah, I'm cool. Anyway, more tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb