Around the Lakes


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Watertown
July 12th 2010
Published: July 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

5/23/2010 - I call this route "Around the Lakes" because there are quite a few nice size lakes in this area. I love the Kettle Moraine Area. My grandpa would take me ice fishing on Pewaukee Lake when I was a little and boating in the summer. In high school, I would run on the trails with the cross country team. As an adult, I enjoy the scenary on rides with lots of trees and surprising curves. When I'm in the area, I always hike up Lapham Peak observation tower. A beautiful view of Pewaukee Lake and beyond.

On this trip, I travel alone. I passed through New Berlin to stop by Renegade's Classic to check out some motorcycle stuff. Since I got a new bike, I'm looking for a windshield or tank bag. I need a place for my camera and rally towel that I can access easily for taking pictures. Jackpot! I found the bag I was looking for and got a nice deal.

With my purchase tucked safely away in my saddle bag, it's time to get the first town, Merton. Pulled over with my flashers on and got the first picture of the day. Mapleton turned out to be a bust, but Grellton was an adventure.

I passed the sign on the way into town, if you can even call it that. I turned around and headed back the way I came to try again. Since there really wasn't a good place to pull a U-turn, I turned on the next street left and rode down some road leading to nowhere. F%^&! I gotta turn around again. 10-point turn this time. As I try for chance number 2, I contemplate whether or not to pull off into the gravel on a steep hill. Nope, I don't think so. I just got the bike and can't risk a damsel in distress.

Well crap! I didn't come out all this way to not get my sign. Thinking there may be a sign down the road, I ride a mile or two and no luck there. I turned around one more freakin' time and pulled over on the shoulder, and in the opposite direction from traffic to get the damn sign. I bail out of town in case someone is wondering why this crazy lady keeps driving past.

I stop to refuel and get a snack in Watertown. All that turning around made me hungry! I venture off to get my last town of the day in Farmington and head back home. 180 miles round trip.






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb