On the road again


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone! Here I am yet again, about to set out for another adventure and write another chapter in the Book of Noel. However, this trip is quite different from any I have previously taken. As most of you know, I leave tonight for Roatan, Honduras to study hawksbill sea turtles for my Masters research project. I will be studying the turtles' behaviors, movement patterns, ecology and diet. I will start a second blog that is more researched-focused and will update you with the link when it's set up. Since LLU is pretty conservative, I might save the juicy details for Sykpe. :-)

Those of you who have been in touch recently know that I have been struggling to work out details and logistics with my graduate advisor. I have received little advice, support and guidance, but am not too concerned about travel details because I think the last few years have primed me for flexibility. The research is another story. Since I have never worked with turtles, I really have no clue what to expect. Thankfully, I am surrounded by an amazing group of friends, family and colleagues who have been unbelievably helpful and supportive. THANK YOU to each of you for that!

This trip will also be very different in that I will be staying (at least to the best of my knowledge) in a dive resort overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Hello paradise! Maybe this time I can avoid my usual food poisioning, amoeba, and prison cell hotel experiences. Also, I should have Wifi access frequently, so make sure to find me on Skype some time and I'll show you my digs.

Also, thanks to everyone for making my time in Wisconsin AWESOME (I think I need a second vacation to recover from this one!), and to everyone for the many airport rides and couches to crash on. I'll miss you all and hope to have some visitors at some point along the way!

Con mucho amor,
Noel XOXOXOXOX


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 79; dbt: 0.0941s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb