Pre-Korea Rant


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BeforeBeforeBefore

My shot before my brother told me how to pack...
Having googled a "study abroad korea blog", I stumbled upon one of the bloggers at this site. So many other bloggers who are traveling in Korea, I can find some way to spend the last seven days before I leave. Leaving through airplane has me worried. I suppose I'm always the follower, not the leader, so to guide myself through the airports will be the first of my challenges 😊

What I have packed is 6 days worth of clothing for both winter and summer; all in one bulging suitcase. Then there's my empty backpack... having taken out all of my school supplies, it sure looks like it needs something put in there. School has finished, and so I check my grades online everyday in fear of how I've done. Although I've improved vastly from my freshman year, my grades (I'm guessing) will have slipped this semester compared to last. I wonder what classes in Korea will be like. 20 hours of intensive korean language sounds rather intimidating, but then again I'm not sure if I should sign up for beginner or something harder. I feel like I'm cheating myself since I know some korean, but then again I calm
AfterAfterAfter

Rolling up my clothing to save much space
that guilt since I know very little written language and I can't speak it, only understand it. I'm not sure what time my classes will start, as I want to know that so I could get a little part time job doing someting like teaching english. Having little self confidence in my english, I sometimes wonder how bad it could get.

For pictures and communication, I've borrowed my parents old digital camera, a Camedia C-700 and a Dell laptop. I have a lot to learn about photography, but I learned a bit online on how to use this camera; stuff like aperture and shutter. Having played around with those two settings, I could just imagine what kind of interesting photos I could make; of course since this is my imagination, things will go awry all over 😊 The Dell laptop is what I'll be using to write this journal and save my photos. I plan on, initially, not buying a cell phone just so I can have some peace from the ringing; especially the 'rents.

Being quite nervous going to a new school (again... what.... three years in a row >.<) I'll see what clubs are going on and meet people that way. As I will be staying in a host family I'll not have the opportunity to meet people like the International House (dorms for... international students). After I arrive in Korea and situate myself at my mother's friends house... well... I guess I'll just see what happens then and write that down in the next entry...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb