Resources for Travel


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Milwaukee
January 19th 2009
Published: January 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm two weeks away from departure. I'm a little bit nervous, just because there's so much left to do! Mostly bank stuff and packing. I plan to be packed by thursday, since I leave on sunday. That will give me time to rethink everything I packed (and hopefully unpack some of it).

During the last 6 months or so of planning, I've come across a lot of good resources for travelers. Here's a short list of the highlights:

SkyScanner This site lets you search for cheap flights for non-students. It's cool because you can look at a whole month's worth of fares in either a calendar format or a bar graph. You book the flight directly through the airline.

STA Travel Best site ever for students. They have realllly good fares (mostly for students) as well as information on trains, hotels, and insurance. Love it.

FlightAware This is a really neat site where you can look up any airline or specific flight and look at a little map that shows you where the plane is, how long it's been in the air, how long there is left on the flight...all kinds of useful information! I plan to pull this up before we go to the airport so my parents don't freak out too much.

One Bag This crazy site proves it is possible to travel light! Sometimes I think the techniques are a little extreme, but the one-page packing list is really handy. There's just a lot of good info on here!

Also an article that I stumbled upon. It has some good info about credit cards and banking abroad.

Happy travels!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb