G Love at the Rave


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Milwaukee
February 15th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ironically, Becca was the one who told me about G Love playing in Milwaukee. It was a long time ago, but I got a ticket eventually (still haven't learned my lesson I guess... Always buy two tickets!) but it was meant to be bc... well I'll get to that part. I thought I would be at least a little late... because I didn't end up leaving Beloit until 815 and the show was supposed to start at 8. They never do... sure, but it's still over an hour to Milwaukee. I think I got there around 940. The Eagles Club, or "The Rave" as they call it now, is much like most of Milwaukee. Old, jumbled and confused. Plain brick on the outside, plain on the inside. They could have used it as a meat locker two weeks ago, then a bar for a week, then took some doors out from between rooms and made it into a venue. It was uninspiring, uninviting, and timelessly plain. The nondescriptness made it timeless. It could have been from the 20's or the 80's or anywhere in between, or modified a few times. Who knows?

Apparently there was an opening band, because G Love took the stage just after I arrived. I made a few halfhearted attempts to get to the middle of the crowd, then gave up because I just didn't want it badly enough. I didn't recognize his opening song, which set the tone for the evening. He must have come out with at least two CD's since the last time I saw them junior year of college. The newer one I have, Lemonade. I haven't gotten very familiar with it, but knew some lines from a few songs, and he actually played my two favorites "Can't go back to Jersey" and "Rainbow". I danced a bit on the side, then gave up on being cheap and bought a $7 MGD... woo! so expensive... You'd think it'd be cheaper IN MILWAUKEE WHERE THEY MAKE IT!!! Nope... but that got me in the mood really fast and I wormed my way to the center of the crowd and danced as much as I could in the tight quarters of the crowd. They played some songs I knew and most of them were just NAILED, with my only complaint being that it seemed like G was having trouble keeping up with the band, lyric wise. He seemed rushed, like he was on the verge of falling behind. Sometime in here I realized that I was quite dehydrated, VERY dehydrated actually, and escaped the throng gasping for cool air and stumbled to the bar for a cup of water which I had to pay a dollar for! WTF??? Water should always be free if your establishment is a club with dancing and is situated not more than 10 miles from LAKE MICHIGAN!!! Some anger... about the prices there. Anyway, I wandered with my water up a flight of stairs and the first thing I saw were some people dancing and some open space! So I resumed dancing, a little subdued because of my water. I turned to get a closer look at the stage and these two girls noticed me and called me over and I started dancing with the cuter one. Nice! They were in college still and acted younger than me. Since when am I attractive? This is a totally new (but entirely welcome) idea. Anyway, afterwards I drove home totally exhausted. I am going to call in tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 40; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb