Everything has to go, including me...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
October 29th 2008
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

...thanks Keith. 😊

I have been selling off all of my stuff recently. It is amazing how much you can actually live without. I am going to be living out of a backpack mostly for the next few months. It is going to be a huge change. I won't have my computer to watch TV shows on, I won't have my comfortable bed to relax in. I am not going to have a lot of what I have now, but I won't miss any of the stuff (well, maybe the bed). I will be missing the people though.

Not a lot of people from my family move away from their hometown, which I understand, because I like Dorr and Byron Center and Wayland. It is small and not much going on, but it really has a nice feel to it. It is very comfortable there and I know a lot of people there (or at least, I used to).

This past weekend, I met one of Lily's aunt's sister (I don't know what the actual relationship term is for that) and she has traveled all over the world. She has lived in Turkey, backpacked across Europe and is moving to Florence to go to Culinary school to pursue her passion. She was a great person to talk to right before we take off. She knew about ISIC, she knew about traveling around the world and she was still excited to do it. It was a good feeling.

Lily found a place for us to stay at in Tokyo while we are there. It will be essentially free, so that is going to be nice. He seemed kind of funny too, so hopefully it will be a good time.

I got a checkup at the Dr's this past week too. Doc jokingly said everything was healthy except my mind. 😊 My doc is a funny guy. He seemed kind of stunned at what I am doing though, but that's kind of the reaction I get from a lot of people.

The only big thing left is getting the visa's back, which should be before the end of the week!

Hitting up Chicago before we take off too. Going to go see Wicked, which we were going to see in New York, but it was going to cost 400$. A little too pricey for me. It is going to be a good time. A few friends are coming along too, to see us off.


Advertisement



30th October 2008

Hey Squid Boy....
Hey Josh, we we're sitting here reading your latest entry trying to figure how no one had left a post yet, so we thought we'd get the ball rolling. We are giving you nothing but support and good luck on your adventures (fishing, hunting, eating grubs and the like). Anyhow we hope to see you soon. TTFN. <- no idea what that means.
16th November 2008

Farewell and Good Luck
Josh, I wanted to call and talk to you before you left, but this week has been crazy and I think I missed you. So I will send you my wishes via your blog. I hope you have trouble free travels and once you settle in all goes well. I will pray for your safety and that you and Lily find what you are looking for. But, I think you will find that although it is fun to travel, (borrowing a famous line) "there is no place like home." Luv ya... To the Newlyweds TTFN - ta ta for now.
17th November 2008

jealous!
I'm so glad you and lily are getting to live your dreams - Nick and I are jealous so you must post info and pics often and come to the wedding party in May to tell us all about it!
18th November 2008

Re: Farewell and Good Luck
You didn't miss me. I will be calling you either tonight or tomorrow morning. I leave tomorrow. :)

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1008.4kb