Meanwhile back in Madison...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
September 29th 2007
Published: September 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

September 29, 2007. 12:30 p.m. Monona, Wisconsin. Greetings friends. Just thought I'd check in with a few words about life back at home in Madison. I'm a bit behind on Darrin's blog, because while he's been off adventuring, I did a little traveling of my own - a week in the Grand Tetons of Wyoming with my good girlfriend Heather. It was grand!

Upon returning home, I discovered that our dear little cattle dog Addie had a whopping case of FLEAS. For the past two weeks my life has been consumed by vacuuming, bathing Addie, sanitizing bedding, etc. Addie has been a bit traumatized by the excessive bathing and vacuuming (and Darrin being gone too, I'm sure), so she has taken to escaping through window screens and roaming the neighborhood when I’m not home. Addie has also taught herself to pull box fans out of windows and push up on windows open just a crack, both so that she can free herself when I thought there'd be no way she could get out. I'm not kidding - she is ridiculously strong and smart. So, when I'm not at work, I've been either chasing Addie's fleas, or chasing Addie (or both, really, when you think about it!).


But alas, relief is in sight. Addie and I are literally about to jump into the car within the next 20 minutes to begin our drive to Maine to be reunited with Darrin. He's been out of cell phone range, and away from landlines for the past week, but I have faith that he is out there happy and healthy. Addie and I CAN'T WAIT to be reunited with him, and are looking forward to a leisurely family journey home as we explore New England along the way. Once we're back, we'll pick up where we left off with Darrin's blog. As for the fleas, all I can say is that if they're still here when we get home, DARRIN will be chasing them!

P.S. - Many, many thanks for your reading and wonderful comments and emails expressing enthusiasm and support. You are all gems, and have really made Darrin and I feel that his journey is shared by all of you. We can't wait to complete the story!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb