The Perfect Start to a Perfect Place


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
January 14th 2007
Published: January 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My Pre-Travels

From the RC to FoCo to LoDo to the IC, to Madtown, to Chitown. This is the route Chip and I followed as I moved on to the Old Country.

WaWaWeeWa!!! It was Sunday the 14th of Janvier. The Sunday I took an 8-hour direct flight from Chicago to Paris. Saturday, I went to bed knowing that i would be waking up around 9:30 at the latest, to ensure that all of the things I had scattered about the house would be packed properly.We would leave by 11:30 I hoped, stopping to pick up a coffee that could leisurely be drank with Chip before I flew out of the country for an indefinite amount of time. I had only one carry-on, a small backpack, and one large-ish backpack, for hiking and traveling purposes. I packed each carefully, because we had a 3-day orientation in Paris and I wouldn't want to be digging through my huge backpack trying to find another sock. After tightly rolling each shirt, short, and pant, I tediously placed it, hot-dog style, in my pack. Much to my relief, at the end of the pile of clothes, I had succeeded in packing everything I needed! Unfortunately, it had taken 2 whole hours to do. I was suddenly in a tizzy. If we didn't leave right at 11:30, there would be no time for coffee! Or leisure! I still had my carry-on to pack, my toiletries to gather, and my backpack to stuff. I left my pack open on the floor, and hurriedly crammed my other bags. Another half hour had passed! Chip was waiting impatiently at the door, pawing his feet at the ground and snorting. He needed coffee!
Finally, I ran to cinch and clip my pack. My coat was on, my other bags were waiting for me in the car, and Chip was drooling at the mouth in anticipation. I lifted the pack into its upright position by its top drawstring, pulling it tight. Next, I grabbed the cord located at the top neck of the backpack, with the hopes of clipping it to the corresponding plastic device on the opposite side. *Clip.* Good, it fit. Now I only had to tighten the strap, connect the final clip, and it was off to the airport. I no longer had any time to get coffee. I grabbed the newly-clipped strap and pulled.
The seam where the base of the clip was sewn ripped nearly in half. It was as if a large-jawed dog had just played mercy with the seam. Socks, shirts, and toiletries spilled out. I made a noise similar to that a rabbit makes when it is struck with terror. My plane left in less than 3 hours, and it was a one and a half hour ride. My bag had just been rendered useless with one gargantuan pull. What did I do? Guess!


Advertisement



28th January 2007

ps. i know the video doesn't work.
29th January 2007

Your video doesnt work
Hey uh where exactly are you in france again
12th February 2007

so what did you do with your malfunctioning baggage?

Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb