Paris: Exercise and Folly


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 29th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=nqfJadwlfes]
My Former LifeMy Former LifeMy Former Life

Reigning supreme over social skills.
To save both of us time, here's a bulleted list of my entertaining experiences in Paris:

1. I foolishly believed one of the girls in my hostel room knew which way a group rendezvous was. The rendezvous pertained to a 3-hour boat tour of Paris on the Seine, and was actually THE ONE THING I was looking forward to most during our 3-day orientation in Paris. Also involved sprinting from one end of the Ile de la Cité to another (roughly 1.5 miles). Mind you, this was towards the tail end of a 2-month hiatus from any and all physical exercise. End result: exhaustion, stupefaction, and failure. We were still 15 minutes late. Additionally: It was night, and quickly getting late. Suck.

2. Visited Sacre Coeur. Became visibly excited when I happened to turn the corner at the exterior foyer and noticed a brown glove stuck to the stone wall about 30 feet off the ground. Took many pictures, and showed my treasure off to the people I was with. End result: Was met with obvious disappointment and confusion.

3. Spoke in French successfully with the hostel desk receptionist, only to discover he was talking about being a
Hélas, les bateaux...Hélas, les bateaux...Hélas, les bateaux...

This is an example of that boat upon which I had been looking forward to taking a tour on for 3 weeks, but on which I did NOT indeed take said tour.
professional soccer player in England for 9 years, who was forcibly removed to France after being stabbed several times. End result: Boost in self-confidence, but incertitude about the accuracy of a) my listening capabilities; or b) the story.

4. Quickly tired of and quit the making- new- friends game. End result: Decided the 3 Musketeers (French!) were wrong. All for everybody else, and 1 for just me (myself). Besides, didn't these girls hear that being aloof is the new black??

Advertisement



1st February 2007

I thought being aloof was the new jungle green!

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb