If At First You Don't Succeed


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Appleton
April 9th 2008
Published: April 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last night, we got to our hotel and assigned to rooms. Ours are in an unmarked wing, with no signs to get here, so we wandered around for quite some time. I finally found it and got settled and heard someone trying to unlock my door- several times. I opened the door to a surprised Sarah. “Right. Your room, not mine.” Pretty funny. If at first you don’t succeed, try next door.

5 hours was not enough sleep after a weekend like that. Oh my. When my alarm went off, I grabbed it, turned it off (not to snooze) and rolled over. I did in fact go back to sleep, but no worries, I got up in time to be ready for work. Late load-in, no show today. But a Union house with a seemingly small crew. When I work local shows at home, people often tell us we’re a good group to work with, but it’s always just been normal for me. I must say, though, it’s pretty fantastic. These guys were grumpy and slow, only one flyman and we had to ask the steward to call rails all day. It took forever. Load in was strained and slow. Not a lot of organization, unfortunately.

Sharye joined me in my room tonight and came to dinner with us. We went to OG then Wal-Mart. It has been a week since we’ve been, and we didn’t even go in Illinois! I can’t believe we survived! Anne needed Q-Tips, that’s it, so it was supposed to be really quick. I’m thinking 3 minutes. 20 minutes later, we left. I look forward to not having to travel in a pack someday again.

In case you’re not an Ellen watcher, the Choir was on in yesterday. Not our kids, but the other one, Choir 30. You can check out the video on the web. But before they went there, they went to Ben & Jerry’s where they launched a partnership with ONE (make poverty history www.ONE.org) and they’re ONE flavor of ice cream. All the kids got to have some, which is always a treat, and here is a picture of one of the kids praying for the ice cream, and I’m sure praying for people with AIDS. These kids are amazing prayers. Anyway, if you want to see the kids perform with Daughtry, go to http://ellen.warnerbros.com/EllenMediaPlayer/#topofpage and click on Music Performances on the right.

Advertisement



10th April 2008

Socks?
Did you get some new socks at Wal-mart? I know where your missing socks are. Your dog is chewing up ours and telepathically yours too. Are you by chance missing undies, too? Or at least have chunks of them missing? Anyway, Jeremy is counting down the days until you come home (Mom and Dad are too!) He wants to read to you his new "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" books. Loves ya, see you soon!

Tot: 0.596s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 69; dbt: 0.4364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb