Day 2


Advertisement
Published: April 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

OD
Well the first full, sort of, day on the trail. We both slept well last night.
It did rain early in the morning. Woke up just long enough to have it register
and see the sun was not even close to coming up, then pull the sleeping bag
closer around my head and lights out. We weren't too awful sore this morning
and it did not take long to get the kinks out. There was some grumbling at
breakfast. I dug through my food bag and found there was no coffee, I got it in
the re-supply boxes but not my pack. So there was a bit of a caffeine withdrawal
headache most of the day. Only three more days and I can get java again! Less
people on the trail today. Saw a big group of scouts heading north. Saw a couple
of nice sized deer early and a Downy Woodpecker later. Not much life on the
trail but us. We logged about seven miles and stopped early as we were both a
bit beat after seven hours of the trail. We encountered quite a few very slow
rocky sections and progress was touchy.

Words from CC
"We are really doing this hike! Felt sorry for OD when I figured out it was I
who made the coffee booboo. Most of my coffee withdrawal problems were on Saturday on
the ride down. OD might have all of his kinks out, but I still have a few. Had quite
the adventure walking up the rocky stretches. Reminded me of the "Hinds Feet"
journey. I didn't see the deer. I am trying to learn to walk without looking
down. The chili we had for dinner showed all the drying and adding our own stuff
to commercial meals worked quite well. Looking forward to another day on the
trail tomorrow."


Patrick, Deborah Mooney aka OD & CC
All Who Wander Are Not Lost




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb