Culture Vulture in Washington


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
October 9th 2012
Published: October 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I enjoyed beautiful orchids, visited the jungle, the desert, Hawaii and looked at medicinal plants, all for free in the Botanical Gardens in Washington DC. I think it's great that all their museums are free, what a great way to get people in and educate them, even the less privileged and families can do it when it's free. Well done Washington!! The orchids were beautiful all shapes, sizes and colours. This was followed by a brisk walk asthe temperature has dropped to about 55 and it feels a bit like the UK, not liking that too much, never mind. Next stop was a sculpture garden which I found when looking for a warm drink, all sorts of cubic stuff but the one that stood out was a stainless steel tree which had obviously fooled one bird as he was sitting in it, quite funny. After cappucino and a very nice brownie braved the cold once more and headed for the Vietnamese War Memorial. It saddened me to see so many names young men who died for their country, they were someone's sons, brothers fathers etc. what a devastating effect on so many peoples lives.

Today I suddenly realised that all I have to think about now is what I am doing, what I am eating and how I am travelling!!!!!! Really weird!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0824s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb