The Jolly Green Giant


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
June 26th 2010
Published: June 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Just outside of the town of Dayton my son spotted an interesting landmark on the hill. I love having passengers in the car, they always point out things that I miss while I am driving.

From recent research that I did, the Green Giant company used to have a location in Dayton. But after they were sold out to the company Seneca and Seneca then moved its corporation out of the country, no one is interested in the upkeep of the Giant on the hillside.

You can still see the outline, but I guess in the past it was much more prevelant. At first I felt the need to volunteer to go and help get the giant back, but after reading the that the new company that bought out the giant moved to Peru I don't blame the residents for wanting the giant to fade away.

Makes you kinda think about were our food comes from and where it is controlled from. Another good argument for supporting local farmers markets.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb