Ever Picture Tells a Story


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
October 21st 2008
Published: October 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

NOTE: Yesterday, I posted a picture entitled “Karaoke” labeled with Victor and Jordan. This is not Jordan, this is David. I’m sure if it had been Jordan, the note would have been achieved well and the face wouldn’t be so painful. I apologize sincerely for the mix-up and hope people weren’t confused.

Today was day one of tech. Yikes. We had to leave at 6:43, but ended up heading out a bit late. Our hotel has a proper restaurant for breakfast, where you have to order and wait and pay (except we have vouchers), so everything took a bit more time than we were hoping. Note to self: ask upon check-in the type of breakfast. All is well, though.

Throughout the course of the morning, we had a few minor catastrophes; things preparing the perfect storm. Dale reminded me, though, that if you get enough of these, it makes for a GREAT story. And I believe that’s what we got. The board op was less that quick, yet worked hard if you gave him a task. Patching took a bit longer than I would have liked, but it was done and accurate. But in the course of that, we found out that the board I rented decided to fritz and do whatever it felt like (no one had ever heard of it doing thing before.) Wow. The director was less than thrilled with the venue and gear and things, which is always good, and sound was taking quite a bit of time to get the kinks worked out. (Note: there were FOUR people working on sound- Kyle, Jessica, Cowboy, and a house guy Matt, and ONE person doing lighting.) Our crew was a bit smaller than anyone would have had, but we made do. The TD rocks at life, which makes all the difference. Throughout the day, I became increasingly grateful that I had the frame of mind to program 75% of the show before we arrived- I don’t know how I would have ever done all of this!

We got the kids on the stage about an hour later than we had hoped, which made everyone a bit nervous about how much time we would have. Then we had to break for lunch after not very long. But after we ate, we booked! Surprisingly to all of us, we ran through the entire show after lunch! A few train wrecks happened in times where there were costume changes the kids had never seen before and things, but very funny nonetheless. At one point, we were waiting for kids and David was given the God mic to sing a song. He sings very well (contrary to what I wrote earlier in this post,) and did a great rendition of “You Raise Me Up” but with different words regarding getting kids out on stage. Everyone enjoyed it.

All in all, it was a good day- full of stories and laughter and learning and war wounds. Could have been much, MUCH worse, as I think a lot of us were anticipating. Sarah and I got dinner at a Mongolian grill and we all met to go to Cloud 9 again. God is good.

TECHNICALLY SPEAKING: The board randomly started cycling through the channels, then would sometimes capture one and + it up to full, or go into Blind mode or to record a macro. Man, it was weird! I’ve had no problems with it all week until now, and I think I owe Wade some cookies for my early-morning phone call.

WHAT I LEARNED TODAY: How to make channels go x% at full, by dimmer. The TD and I both learned this at the same time. I also learned about how good God is at working things out if we only be patient and let Him do His thing- He’s much smarter than I am.

SARAH’S QUOTE OF THE DAY: Tony, you have to keep it in your pants! (in regards to a microphone pack he kept playing with on his back.) She also used the word “stunken.”

Advertisement



24th October 2008

Well, I'll be.
Definitely gonna use stunken. It works. Totally legit.

Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb